Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Assistance: Databases

Databases

DATABASES

The AFTRS Library gives AFTRS staff and students free access to a number of different research databases.

Communication and Mass Media

Search here for these topics:

  • Media
  • Journalism
  • Communications

FIAF

Search here for these topics:

  • Film history
  • Film theory
  • Film criticism
  • “Treasures from Film Archives”; a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world

Film and Television Literature Index

Search here for these topics:

  • Film and Television Theory
  • Preservation & Restoration
  • Screenwriting
  • Production
  • Cinematography
  • Technical Aspects
  • Film and Television Reviews
  • Variety Movie Reviews from 1914 to the Present
  • Over 36,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive

INFORMIT Indigenous Collection

Search here for these topics:

  • Historical and Topical issues with Indigenous Studies.

Academic Search Complete (Access through the NSW State Library)

Search here for these topics:

  • Ethical and Multicultural Studies
  • Law
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Psychology
  • Religion and Philosophy
  • Science and Technology
  • Woman's Studies

Art Retrospective Index 1929-1984 (H. W. Wilson) (Access through the NSW State Library)

Search here for these topics:

  • Art History
  • Fashion Design
  • Graphic Arts
  • Industrial Design
  • Interior Design
  • Landscape Architecture
  • Motion Pictures
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Television

Jstor (Access through the NSW State Library)

Search here for these topics:

  • Architecture  & Architectural History
  • Art & Art History
  • Arts and Performing Arts
  • Business Management & Organisational Behavior
  • Classical Studies
  • Film Studies
  • Finance
  • Marketing & Advertising
  • Music
  • Philosophy & Religion

ProQuest Research Library (Access through the State Library of New South Wales)

Search here for these topics:

  • Arts & Performing Arts
  • Business
  • History and Biography
  • Society & Culture
  • Science and Technology
  • Social Sciences

INFORMIT Australian Public Affairs Full-Text (APAFT) (Access through the New South Wales State Library)

Search here for these topics:

  • Environment
  • Globalization
  • History
  • Industrial Relations
  • Immigration
  • National Identiy
  • Politics
  • Public Health
  • Social Policy

Business Source Complete (Access through the New South Wales State Library)

Search here for these topics:

  • Business
  • Companies
  • Economics

Factiva (Access through the New South Wales State Library)

Search here for these topics:

  • Media
  • Current Newspapers
  • Newspapers and Media
  • Industries
  • Economics
  • Companies
  • Business

Access Australia [Newsbank] (Access through the New South Wales State Library)

Search here for these topics:

  • Newspapers and Media
  • Current Australian Newspapers

INFORMIT Business Collection (Access through the New South Wales State Library)

Search here for these topics:

  • Business
  • Australian Business

ProQuest Central (Access through the New South Wales State Library)

Search here for these topics:

  • Business
  • Health
  • History and Biography
  • Science and Technology
  • Social Sciences

Australia & New Zealand Newsstream (Access through the New South Wales State Library)

Search here for these topics:

  • Current Newspapers
  • Media
  • Newspapers and Media
  • Society & Culture
  • Legal Studies

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre (Access through the New South Wales State Library)

Search here for these topics:

  • Australian & New Zealand Magazines
  • Australian & New Zealand Newspapers
  • Reference Books
  • Photographs
  • Maps and Flags

Australian Indigenous Index (InfoKoori) to Koori Mail & Earlier Newspapers 

Search here for these topics:

  • Aboriginal Australia
  • Australian History
  • Biography
  • Current Newspapers
  • Newspapers and Media

Margaret Gee's Australian Media Guide (Access through the New South Wales State Library)

Search here for these topics:

  • Australian Media Contact Details

What is a Database?

These hold a collection of information, either focused on one subject or multidisciplinary.

Databases should be used to find authoritative journal articles for your assignments.  

They can include:

  • Journals,
  • Newspapers,
  • Magazines,
  • Reports,
  • Newsletters and more

Sometimes include books, but if you want books specifically, use the library catalogue.

What is a Journal Article?

Journal articles are shorter than books and written about very specific topics. A journal is a collection of articles (like a magazine) that is published regularly throughout the year. 

Journals present the most recent research, and journal articles are written by experts.