NSW State Library Databases
If you are a member of a public library in your state you can access more databases provided by your State. Click through the alphabetic list of databases on offer.
SLNSW Databases
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender (Gale)
A substantial collection of LGBTQI+ publications including periodicals, personal papers, manuscripts, photographs, and more drawn from countries across the world.
Art Retrospective Index 1929-1984 (H.W. Wilson) (EBSCO)
Art Retrospective Index 1929-1984 is an important online resource for research in the fields of fine arts, architecture, decorative arts, and related disciplines.
Australasian Video Online (Alexander Street)
This is an online streaming database of documentary and educational videos from many of Australasia's video publishers. The collection contains more than 500 hours of content and includes videos published from the mid-20th century to the present day, covering regional perspectives in a broad range of disciplines.
British Association for Local History
The national body in Britain promoting local history and serving local historians. The association publishes The Local Historian, quarterly journal, and Local History News, a topical magazine, both of which are indexed and archived on the website.
Chinese - Australian Historical Images in Australia
A database of historical images of Chinese immigrants and their descendants in Australia. It primarily draws on the photographic holdings of the Museum of Chinese Australian History but also includes photographs from other online archives, publications, and private family collections.
No Content.
No Content.
Finding Your Ancestors: Researching Aboriginal Family History in NSW
Finding Your Ancestors is a project of the Royal Australian Historical Society to encourage and help Aboriginal people to take their first steps in researching their family history.
First Mardi Gas
First Mardi Gras Inc. is a not-for-profit community organisation for 78ers - participants in the first Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras held on 24 June 1978.
First Nations Rainbow
Bringing together Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people who identify as brother boys, sister girls, LGBTQI or questioning their sexuality or gender identity.
globalEDGE
A portal to information on global business activities. The site provides access to international resources such as banking and financial information, trade information, statistics, country data, and business news. Also covers current issues in international business, research and teaching resources, decision-support tools for managers, and an interactive forum for business professionals.
Hunter Rainbow History Group
Hunter Rainbow History Group records and collects the stories and experiences of LGBTIQ+ people in Newcastle and the Hunter, New South Wales.
International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)
A full-text virtual library containing all public domain music scores, as well as music from composers who are willing to share their work with the world without charge.
Internet Sacred Text Archive
Archive of documents about religion, spirituality, the occult, legends, and folklore. Also includes links to texts that relate to humanity as a whole such as documents about evolution and the relationship between religion and science.
Internet Sacred Text Archive - Australian Aboriginals
A collection of texts about Aboriginal spirituality, myths, and legends. Because this site only provides texts in the public domain, the texts about Australian Aboriginal religion are mainly historical (nineteenth and early twentieth century) texts by white Australians.
JSTOR - Search Journals, primary sources, and books (JSTOR)
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary digital archive of scholarly material in the social sciences and humanities and the sciences. It includes the full text of non-current issues from over 1,000 leading academic journals as well as select monographs and other materials. The State Library subscribes to the Arts & Sciences Collections Parts I IX and the Nineteenth-Century British Pamphlets collection. Document supply available. Useful for HSC History, HSC Society & Culture, and HSC English.
No Content.
Local Family History Societies
Contact details for family history societies in New South Wales, Queensland and Western Australia. Produced by the New South Wales Family History Document Service.
Multicultural media outlets-NSW
Provides contact details of newspapers, radio, and TV stations servicing ethnic communities in NSW.
MusicAustralia
MusicAustralia is from the National Library and ScreenSound Australia, the National Screen and Sound Archive. It aims to provide web-based access to Australian music resources and information, including sheet music and audio files.
Newtown Project (NSW) (City of Sydney Archives)
This website is a City of Sydney Archives project which, with the help of volunteers, aims to bring together historical information about the Municipality of Newtown.
No Content.
Pride History Group (Sydney)
PHG is a volunteer community group dedicated to researching, writing about and recording memories of Sydney's LGBTIQ+ history. View record page
No Content.
No Content.
SIBMAS International Directory of Performing Arts Collections and Institutions
Lists over 7000 international institutions with material relating to the performing arts, including theatre, opera, music, ballet, film, circus, radio, television, cabaret, and pantomime.
Skeptics' Dictionary
A critical survey and more than 400 definitions and essays on occult, paranormal and pseudoscientific ideas and practices as well as a survey of the philosophy of atheism and skepticism.
Small Town Queer (Tweed Regional Museum)
Small Town Queer explores the LGBTIQ+ history of the Tweed & Northern Rivers region of New South Wales, from the early 1900s to the present.
The Australian Women's Register
A rich and growing source of information about Australian women and their organisations, including:
- Putting Skirts on the Sacred Benches with a listing of more than 700 women candidates who stood for New South Wales Parliament
- Australian Women in War which includes Australian women and women's organisations involved in the Boer War, World Wars, and subsequent conflicts
- The Women's Pages: Australian Women and Journalism since 1850 highlights the achievements of Australian women journalists and their contributions to the nation's public life and culture.
The Conversation (Australian Edition)
In-depth analysis, research, news, and ideas from leading academics and researchers.
The Gender Centre
The Gender Centre support trans and gender expressive people at every stage of their journey as they explore and live their authentic sense of self.
No Content.
No Content.
Writers, Artists and their Copyright Holders (WATCH)
This site is useful for scholars and researchers who may need to obtain permission to publish works still protected by copyright. You can search the WATCH file to find contact information for the copyright holders of authors and artists whose works can be found in libraries and archives across North America and the United Kingdom.
No Content.
No Content.
No Content.
