Victoria State Library Databases
If you are a member of a public library in your state you can access more databases provided by your State. Click through the alphabetic list of databases on offer.
SLV
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Access a comprehensive source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines.
AIATSIS Collection
Discover the world's largest collection dedicated to Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures and histories.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender
Engage with fully searchable collections of primary sources relating to sexuality and identity. Comprises LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Parts I and II; Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century and International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture featuring Australian periodicals from 1970s-2000s.
Australasian Literature Online
Explore nearly 100,000 pages of fully cross-searchable literature from 1930s to the present from Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific Islands, with strong Indigenous and female representation. In-copyright fictional and poetry works are paired with author interviews, documentaries, scholarly writings, and other multimedia.
Berg Fashion Library
Explore world dress and fashion throughout history, including ebooks, articles, and thousands of images for clothing and costumes.
Please note: BFL is part of the Bloomsbury Fashion Central platform. The State Library does not subscribe to all of the content on the platform.
British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
Access primary source material from the long 19th century across a range of subject areas related to the performing arts. The archive includes playbills, scripts, scores, personal letters and papers, meeting minutes, and financial records. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
Coronavirus Research Database
Search authoritative open access journal articles, preprints, proceedings, dissertations and more from key publishers related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses.
Design & Art Australia Online
Search biographies of Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australian artists, designers, craftspeople, and curators from colonial times onwards. (Formerly known as the Dictionary of Australian Artists Online.)
Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement
One person in seven experiences disability - discover the story of this community and its contributions through this addition to the scholarly record of periodicals, interviews, memoir and more from around the world.
Early Experiences in Australasia: Primary Sources and Personal Narratives 1788-1901
Discover a unique and personal view of events in the Australasian region from the arrival of the first settlers through to the Australian Federation at the close of the nineteenth century.
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)
Read online or download from a large selection of multidisciplinary ebook titles representing a broad range of academic subjects.
Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. III: Indigenous Voices
Discover a comprehensive collection of documentaries, feature films and shorts made by and for indigenous people and communities.
FindMyPast
Search birth, death and marriage indexes, census records, immigration and shipping, directories, military records, land records, wills, obituaries, gravestone inscriptions and other sources for British, Australian and New Zealand family history.
Food and Drink in History
Explore the evolution of food cultures and traditions through cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government reports, films, and more. Key issues include agriculture, nutrition, and food production.
Gender: Identity and Social Change
Discover essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
Guardian and Observer (1791-2003)
Discover an archive of The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003), the world’s oldest Sunday newspaper. Articles are full-text, fully searchable, and viewable as images.
Human Rights Studies Online
Study worldwide human rights violations and atrocity crimes of the 20th and early 21st centuries. Comprehensive primary and secondary materials provide historical context and analysis through video footage, images, reference works, government and NGO archives, and documents.
IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library
Explore this freely accessible online database, which holds tens of thousands of pieces of classical sheet music scanned from out of copyright sources. Scores can be downloaded as PDFs. Sometimes downloads can be slow as the files are large, but the range of available scores is very impressive.
Informit Asia Collection
Discover Asia: yesterday, today, and tomorrow. Examine diverse research and analysis across business, technology, arts, history, health and more. Coverage: 1940-onwards (full text)
Informit Business Collection
Gain insight into local and international business ideas with a focus on Australasian content. Coverage: 1993-onwards (full text)
Informit Data
Search a collection of highly specialised index databases for the discovery of resources across a broad range of subject disciplines. See our Informit Guide for index links and details.
JSTOR
Search full-text scholarly journals on all subjects published from 1700 up until 1–5 years ago. Articles published before 1923 in United States journals, or before 1870 elsewhere, are freely accessible.
No Content.
LitCovid
Explore a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus, provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information, U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Literature Criticism (Gale)
Access a collection of literary criticism representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Includes criticism relating to poetry, drama, children's literature, short stories and Shakespeare.
Media history digital library
Full-text material mainly of early-mid 20th century US film journals.
Melbourne street directories (1912-1952)
Trace the changing face of Melbourne and its suburbs between 1912 and 1952 in our collection of historic street directories.
Music & Performing Arts
Listen to music from around the world, past, and present. Titles include Dance in Video, African American Music Reference, American Music, Classical Music in Video, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Jazz Music Library, Opera in Video, Popular Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.
National Archives of Australia
Access records received or created by the Commonwealth government. The archive consists of tens of millions of items and includes records about immigration, military service, transport, Indigenous Australians, science and the environment, and much more.
National Geographic Archive (1888–2015)
Search topics from the full text of the magazine, with major articles on contemporary and historic events.
NationMaster
Compare statistics from a huge central data source including CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF, and OECD.
Oxford Academic Journals: resources on coronavirus and related topics
With the recent coronavirus situation, Oxford University Press has made content from online resources and leading journals freely accessible to assist researchers, medical professionals, policymakers, and others who are working to address this potential health crisis.
Oxford Art Online
Explore incredibly rich encyclopedias covering Western and non-Western art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Note that this database is the access point for Grove® Art Online, the Encyclopaedia of aesthetics, and other Oxford art reference resources.
ProQuest
Access a huge range of international and Australian content on business, education, humanities, medicine, social sciences, science and technology topics.
ProQuest Art and Architecture
Browse key research journals in art and architecture from the late 19th century to now. Includes full-colour images.
ProQuest Asian Newsstream
Find full-text articles from over 60 Asian and Far East titles including Japan News (2012— ), Nepali Times (2006— ), New Straits Times (1995— ), Beijing Review (2013— ), China Daily (1995— ), and The Hindustan Times (2005— ).
Coverage varies between titles. Text only, no pictures or ads.
ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Newsstream
Find full-text articles from Australian and New Zealand newspapers, including The Age (1996— ), Herald Sun (2001— ), The Australian (2001— ), The Sydney Morning Herald (1996— ), and ABC news program transcripts.
Coverage varies between titles. Text only, no pictures or ads.
ProQuest Business
Research international and regional business, finance, and economics with predominantly Asian and European coverage. Includes ABI/INFORM and The Australian Financial Review (September 2013— ).
No Content.
Right Wrongs – The 1967 Referendum, Our Constitution and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Lives
Engage with the perspectives of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people about life before, during, and after the historic 1967 referendum in Australia, through text, photos, videos, ephemera, and audio packages available on the website.
Showcast
Browse the most widely used Australasian film and theatre casting directory.
Note: Access to the Library is via username and password. Ask for assistance at an information desk.
Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda
View films from the communist world revealing war, history, current affairs, culture, and society as seen through the socialist lens. Spanning most of the 20th century, the archive covers the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain, and Cuba.
Note that the Library's subscription now includes content from Modules I, II, and III.
The Australian Financial Review (2013— )
Find full-text articles from September 2013 to the present (delayed 3 days). Article text only, no pictures or ads.
UN Data
Search extensive United Nations statistical databases and other international organisations for population, industry, energy, trade, employment, and country profiles.
Vogue Archive (1892— )
Browse the epitome of the international style in the US version of Vogue from 1892 to the present. In colour and including the full content of every page.
Women's Studies Archive
Search an archive providing a history of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offering a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society.
World’s Fairs: A Global History of Expositions
Explore the spectacle of the world's fairs starting from the Crystal Palace in 1851 and the proliferation of North American exhibitions to the Australian International Exhibitions - 1879/80 in Sydney, 1880/81, and 1888/89 in Melbourne and fairs around the world.
The collection includes official records, monographs, publicity, artwork, and artifacts to provide rich research opportunities.
No Content.
No Content.
No Content.
