AFTRS Library Databases
The AFTRS Library gives AFTRS staff and students free access to a number of different research databases. These hold a collection of information, either focused on one subject or multidisciplinary. Databases should be used to find authoritative journal articles for your assignments.
Databases can include: Journals, Newspapers, Magazines, Reports, Reviews, Newsletters, Book Chapters, and eBooks.
Note: Click on the heading of the database you would like to explore.
Databases
Media, Cultural & Communication Studies Database / Taylor & Francis
Search here for these topics:
- Area Studies
- Cultural Studies
- Communication
- Film Studies
- Humanities
- Language & Linguistics
- Media
- Sociology
FIAF
Search here for these topics:
- Film history
- Film theory
- Film criticism
- “Treasures from Film Archives”; a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world
Film & Television Index
Search here for these topics:
- Film and Television Theory
- Preservation & Restoration
- Screenwriting
- Production
- Cinematography
- Technical Aspects
- Film and Television Reviews
- Variety Movie Reviews from 1914 to the Present
- Over 36,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive
Bloomsbury and Faber Screenplays and Criticism
The Bloomsbury and Faber Screenplays and Criticism database brings together a wide range of content from Bloomsbury and Faber & Faber to support studies of the moving image.
It offers searchable access to screenplays presented in industry-standard studio format; introductory overview articles with expert analysis of selected themes; and critical and contextual books on cinema, including coverage of practical techniques for filmmaking and screenwriting.
State Library Databases
State Library Databases
If you are a member of a public library in your state you can access more databases provided by your State. Select your state to discover more resources.
Speak to a Librarian
If you would like help searching or finding sources, book in to speak with one of our librarians. Book Here.
Referencing Help
If you need help with your references and in-text citations, check out our referencing guide. Click Here.
Links
Check out these links to source copies of books and journals!