Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Databases_00: Home

Databases

AFTRS Library Databases

The AFTRS Library gives AFTRS staff and students free access to a number of different research databases. These hold a collection of information, either focused on one subject or multidisciplinary. Databases should be used to find authoritative journal articles for your assignments.  

They can include, Journals, Newspapers, Magazines, Reports, Newsletters, and eBooks.

Journal Articles

Journal articles are shorter than books and written about very specific topics. A journal is a collection of articles (like a magazine) that is published regularly throughout the year. Journals present the most recent research, and journal articles are written by experts

 

Note: Click on the heading of the database you would like to explore.

Databases

Media, Cultural & Communication Studies Database / Taylor & Francis

Search here for these topics:

  • Area Studies
  • Cultural Studies
  • Communication
  • Film Studies
  • Humanities
  • Language & Linguistics
  • Media
  • Sociology

FIAF

Search here for these topics:

  • Film history
  • Film theory
  • Film criticism
  • “Treasures from Film Archives”; a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world

Film & Television Index

Search here for these topics:

  • Film and Television Theory
  • Preservation & Restoration
  • Screenwriting
  • Production
  • Cinematography
  • Technical Aspects
  • Film and Television Reviews
  • Variety Movie Reviews from 1914 to the Present
  • Over 36,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive

Communication and Mass Media

Search here for these topics:

  • Media
  • Journalism
  • Communications

State Library Databases

State Library Databases

If you are a member of a public library in your state you can access more databases provided by your State. Select your state to discover more resources.

Speak to a Librarian

If you would like help searching or finding sources, book in to speak with one of our librarians. Book Here.