LibGuides: Online Resources: Screen Research Websites

Recommended Websites

Screen Research Websites

Black List This link opens in a new window
The Black List is an annual survey of unproduced screenplays - the website connects screenwriters to potential readers, buyers and employers. The podcast and blog feature reviews, inspiration, planning advice for writers, story structure assistance, and thoughtful retrospectives on classic and forgotten films. Check out Go Into The Story for insightful round tables and interviews with screenwriters.
Box Office Mojo This link opens in a new window
International box office news and analysis.
Creative Commons This link opens in a new window
Creative Commons provides free, easy-to-use copyright licenses. They are a simple and standardided way to give the public permission to share and use your creative work, on the conditions of your choice.
Encore Directory This link opens in a new window
Australian film and TV production directory. No longer updated, but still a useful place to check for contact information.
FilmFestivals.com This link opens in a new window
This directory includes information and blogs on about 10,000 film festivals worldwide, plus over 85,000 articles, images and videos on international cinema and festivals. Includes a 'Call for entry' page showing festivals currently seeking entrants, as well as a social network to connect filmmakers and festival organisers.
IMDb Pro This link opens in a new window
Search the world's largest database of film and television titles, actors, directors, producers and other crew members. View:- Contact details for thousands of film industry workers- Casting notices- Movie trailers- Critic reviews- Quotes, trivia and goofs about movies and celebrities
International Encyclopedia of Media Studies This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of articles on approaches to media studies, arranged across 7 thematic volumes and edited by experts in the field.
Screen Global Production This link opens in a new window
Find contact details for over 40,000 international production services companies from all major territories, including the UK, US, Europe, Middle East and Asia.
Password required - please contact the AFTRS Library information desk.
Production Book Online This link opens in a new window
Online directory for the Australian film, television, advertising and multimedia industries. Includes cast, crew, suppliers and production information.
Production Crate This link opens in a new window
Collections of VFX & Motion Graphics, SFX & Music, and Graphics & Textures. About half their content is available for free.
Wikimedia Commons This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 50,000,000 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. Includes footage, images and more.

	The resource is Searchable via SuperSearch
	Access is restricted to AFTRS staff and student only.
	AFTRS Library Staff Favourite