It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Students can take part in free research orientation programs and self-guided visits. There are also tailored sessions for help with coursework or research degrees. And you can book a one-on-one consultation for help with a tricky research question.
The Library holds the greatest collection in the world of material relating to Australia and the Australian people. It ranges from the earliest European speculation about the 'Great Southern Land' to current publications. The collection includes books, magazines, pictures, photographs, maps, sheet music, oral history recordings, manuscript papers, and much more.
Search almost 600,000,000 Australian and online resources including:
- books, audio books, theses, conference items and pamphlets
- photographs, negatives, artworks, drawings, posters, postcards and other pictures, as well as puzzles, instruments and clothing
- digitised newspapers
- sheet music, sound recordings, interviews, movies and other videos
- historical and current maps, atlases, globes, aerial photographs, star charts and nautical charts
ABC Library Sales. consists of two distinct business units that license and sell, both ABC owned and Represented content. The two units are Footage Audio Stills licensing and Programs for educational, organisational or personal use.
Archive of 85,000 newsreels free to view online at the British Pathé website or on YouTube.
Pathé News was a producer of newsreels and documentaries in the UK. Spanning 1896 to 1978, the video collection includes footage of major events around the globe, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science and culture.
A selection of documentary titles and footage from the FAC spanning over 100 years of Australian government documentary film production. The National Film & Sound Archive (NFSA) manages the collection.
NFSA's reference team operates a service for clients in the screen industry, educational and cultural institutions and corporations. Licence fees and service costs may apply.
The NFSA’s Take Three initiative offers Australian tertiary students and emerging Australian artists and filmmakers up to three minutes (180 seconds) of NFSA 100%-controlled footage and/or audio and up to ten stills with no licence fee.
The online collection represents a selection of documentary titles from the Film Australia Collection (FAC), spanning over a century of Australian government documentary film production.
Licence / access fees may apply.
Pexels Videos offers completely free videos. All videos are licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license. This means you can edit or change the videos and use them free for personal and even for commercial projects. All without asking for permission or setting a link to the source. So that attribution is not required. With our swiftly growing database of videos, you are guaranteed to find the perfect footage for your website header, product promotion, or anything else. Every video we have available is free for any purpose - including commercial. This guarantees that you will be saving the hundreds of dollars better spent promoting your brand.
The State Records Office of Western Australia is the Western Australian public records authority with responsibility for managing, preserving and providing access to the State's records. The State Records Office operates as an independent Government agency within the Department of Culture and the Arts.
The NAA keep and care for significant records of the Australian Government. Most of these records were received, created or found by government agencies. The collection consists of tens of millions of items, and includes records about immigration, military service, transport, Indigenous Australians, science, the environment, and much more.
The collection documents Australian government activities since Federation. From dramatic events that shaped the nation to decisions that touched the lives of individual Australians, the records the National Archives holds are about people (whether ordinary, famous, infamous, or something in between) and their interactions with the Australian Government.
The Queensland State Archives comprise millions of public records dating back to the Moreton Bay penal settlement of 1823. Search historical documents, photos and maps on family history, immigration, schooling, crime and much more.
A growing collection of Australian online publications, established by the National Library of Australia in 1996, and now built in collaboration with nine other Australian libraries and cultural collecting organisations.
PANDORA - Preserving and Accessing Networked Documentary Resources of Australia.
ACMI is Australia’s national museum of film, TV, video games, digital culture and art, located in in Federation Square, Melbourne. ACMI runs exhibitions & screenings, holds a large collection of multimedia, and hosts a co-working space (ACMI X) which is a creative hub for many moving image artists.
The Australian Copyright Council is an independent, non-profit organisation. They represent the peak bodies for professional artists and content creators working in Australia’s creative industries and Australia’s major copyright collecting societies.
Unites screen businesses and campaigns for a healthy commercial environment, supported by a representative council and a full-time secretariat. Aims to support the business interests of members, by creating commercial and networking opportunities, and supplying expertise.
Writing NSW brings a community of aspirational, emerging and established writers together through the provision of a suite of writing programs and services that support, develop and promote a writing culture.
MEAA is the largest union and industry advocate for Australia’s creative professionals.
Members include people working in TV, radio, theatre & film, entertainment venues, journalists, actors, dancers, sportspeople, cartoonists, photographers, orchestral & opera performers, public relations, advertising, book publishing and website production.
The Australian Classification Board is a statutory body under the Department of Communications & the Arts which makes classification decisions for films, computer games and certain other publications.
Screenrights is a not-for-profit membership organisation that provides rights and royalty management services to the screen industry. They facilitate access to screen content through simple licensing for teachers, government administrators and home viewers with subscription TV.
Organisation which advocates for gender parity in the film industry through advocacy, education and support of female identifying screen industry practitioners. They run programs and events, coordinate protests, offer mentoring and more.