Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Television: Home

Introduction

Introduction to Television

Search this guide as a starting point for your research into television.

Books List

The future of television: Your guide to creating TV in the new world by Pamela Douglas

Call Number: 791.450232/101
Publication Date: 2015
The book explores the evolution and future of television and examines how the boundaries between network, cable and the internet are blurring to create the modern television landscape. The book looks at how the internet and streaming services have revolutionized television and focuses on how writers, producers and directors can use the emerging possibilities to create original television now and in the coming decade.

 

The television handbook by Jeremy Orlebar

Call Number: 791.45023/32 (4th ed.)
Publication Date: 2011
The television handbook is a critical introduction to the practice and theory of television. The book examines the state of television today, explains how television is made and how production is organised, and discusses how critical thinking about programmes and genres can illuminate their meanings. This book also explores how developments in technology and changing structure of the television industry will lead the medium in new directions.

 

A history of television in 100 programmes by Phil Norman

Call Number: 791.4509/7
Publication Date: 2015
This book examines the history of television through 100 ground-breaking programs from a wide variety of genres that have helped shape and define the television industry. 

 

 

 

The HBO effect by Dean J. DeFino,

Call Number: 384.55523/1
Publication Date: 2014
The HBO Effect discusses the influence of HBO on contemporary film and television. The book examines HBO's unique history and impact on television and popular culture and discusses how the channel's productions have transformed modern television.

 

 

Reality TV: An insider's guide to TV's hottest market by Troy DeVolld

Call Number: 791.456/G24 /22
Publication Date: 2011
This book provides readers with an insiders look at creating successful reality TV programs. This book demystifies the world of writing and producing reality television in a fun, accessible way that's as entertaining to reality fans as it is informative to students and established creatives looking to cross into one of the most explosive genres in television.

 

 

Television and new media: Must-click TV by Jennifer Gillan

Call Number: 791.45/38
Publication Date: 2011
Television and New Media introduces students to the ways that new media technologies have transformed contemporary television production, distribution, and reception practices. Drawing upon recent examples including "Lost", "24", and "Heroes", this book closely examines the ways that television programming has changed with the influx of new media - transforming nearly every TV series into a franchise, whose on-air, online, and on-mobile elements are created simultaneously and held together through transmedia storytelling.

 

I like to watch: Arguing my way through the TV revolution by Emily Nussbaum

Call Number: 791.45/39
Publication Date: 2019
This collection features several essays by American TV critic Emily Nussbaum that highlight her passion for television and explore how television shows play a role in the wider social-cultural environment. The essays address a wide range of topics from the depiction of women to the impact of power and privilege and highlights the complex issues involved in judging a program based not only on the merits of the program but the actions of the creator. 

 

Create your own TV series for the internet by Ross Brown

Call Number: 808.225/56 (2nd ed.)
Publication Date: 2014
This book is an all-in-one guide to creating a successful short-form TV series for the Internet. The book guides the aspiring videomaker from an initial series idea through writing, production, and uploading and marketing a polished pilot and successive episodes of their own original Internet TV series.

 

 

Stealing the show: How women are revolutionizing television by Joy Press

Call Number: 791.45082/4
Publication Date: 2018
In recent years, the television landscape has seen the glorious rise of women to key positions of power within the industry, from writers to producers to directors. This book explores how strategic advocating for women in writers' rooms, in producing discussions, and behind the camera as directors led to an inspiring new era for television drama as women gained a more central role in the creation of television programs. 

 

TV outside the box: Trailblazing in the new golden age of television by Neil Landau

Call Number: 384.55/24
Publication Date: 2016
This book explores the new and exploding universe of on-demand networks: Netflix, Amazon, Hulu, Vimeo, and examines how these networks are shaping the future of television. The book examined how TV content creators are taking advantage of the new digital entertainment age and features conversations with game-changing content creators, industry mavericks, and leading cultural influencers.

TV showrunner's roadmap: 21 navigational routes for screenwriters to create and sustain a hit TV series by Neil Landau

Call Number: 808.225/59
Publication Date: 2014
The TV Showrunner’s Roadmap provides useful information for creating, writing, and managing television shows to ensure they are successful and entertaining. The book takes you behind the scenes insights into the creation of hit television shows and contains exclusive interviews with showrunners from some of TV’s most lauded series. 

 

Showrunners : the art of running a TV show: The official companion to the documentary by Tara Bennett

Call Number: 791.45023/40
Publication Date: 2014
This official companion book to the documentary Showrunners provides an insider's guide to creating, writing, and running a scripted television series in the words of some of the biggest talents of the industry. The book includes interviews with a variety of celebrated and popular showrunners including Joss Whedon (Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Firefly, Dollhouse) Damon Lindelof (Lost) Ronald D. Moore (Battlestar Galactica) Bill Prady (The Big Bang Theory) and David Shore (House). 

 

 Writing Diverse Characters for Fiction, TV or Film by Lucy V. Hay

Call Number: 808.23/331
Publication Date: 2018
Film and television writing is catching up with the diversity of the world we live in. Hay's excellent guide to characterisation gives writers the tools to create three dimensional, authentic characters who exist outside the categories that protagonists (and antagonists) have typically inhabited. Whether writing about different classes, races, religions, sexualities, abilities or genders, this book will help you get it right.

 

The art of character: Creating memorable characters for fiction, film, and tv by David Corbett

Call Number: 808.3/55
Publication Date: 2013
This book provides a valuable insight into creating memorable and realistic characters for film and television. The book addresses the importance of creating memorable dialogue and provides insight into how to create powerful characters that draw the audience into the story.  

 

 

Creating Australian television drama: A screenwriting history by Susan Lever

Call Number: 791.4575/60
Publication Date: 2020
This book describes the establishment of Australian television drama production, observing the way writers grasped the creative and business opportunities that television presented. It examines the development of Australian versions of the major television genres- the sitcom, the police drama, the historical series, docudrama, and social drama. It offers an account of the emergence of work by Indigenous writers for television and it argues for the consideration of television drama alongside histories of Australian film and stage drama.

 

Writing for television: Series, serials and soaps by Yvonne Grace

Call Number: 808.225/58
Publication Date: 2014
This book is a practical guide on writing for television from the point of view of a television drama producer. The book investigates how to structure a storyline, how to write good treatments and outlines, and how to write for a variety of audiences. The book also includes interviews with several successful television writers working today and has pointers on how to make good contacts with the people within the industry.

 

Write to tv: Out of your head and onto the screen by Martie Cook

Call Number: 808.225/28 [2nd ed.]
Publication Date: 2014
This book features information on how to create smart, original stories and scripts for a variety of television formats and genres, including comedy, drama, pilots, animation, made-for-TV movies, late night, and reality television. The book also features interviews with studio and network executives, agents, and managers on what they're looking for in new writers and includes practical tips to successfully write for television.

Media production: A practical guide to radio and TV by Amanda Willett

Call Number: 791.45023/41
Publication Date: 2013
This book is an introductory guide to radio, TV and film production techniques. Illuminating the step by step process from conception to delivery, from the initial brainstorms, through planning, research and editing, this book creates a guided structure to help students learn about media production.

 

Producing for TV and new media by Cathrine Kellison

Call Number: 791.450232/93 (3rd ed.)
Publication Date: 2013
This book is a valuable guide for new and aspiring producers and contains useful information on the multi-dimensional role of a television producer  in the 21st century. The book includes interviews with industry professionals and offers practical insights into cutting edge developments in television and new media production. 

 

Storyselling: How to develop, market and pitch film & TV projects by Heather Hale

Publication Date: 2019 
This book investigates how to pitch ideas for film and television projects. The book contains useful information on how to develop, market and pitch ideas in order to sell the idea to television and film executives. 

 

 

 

Art of the cut: Conversations with film and TV editors by Steve Hullfish

Call Number: 778.535/75
Publication Date: 2017
Art of the Cut examines the art and technique of contemporary film and television editing. It includes interviews and discussions with 50 of the top editors from around the globe and provides a broad spectrum of opinions that illustrate both similarities and differences in techniques and artistic approaches to editing film and television. Interviewees include Margaret Sixel (Mad Max: Fury Road), Tom Cross (Whiplash, La La Land) and Kelley Dixon (Breaking BadThe Walking Dead). 

 

The practical guide to documentary editing: Techniques for TV & film by Sam Billinge

Call Number: 778.5235/14
Publication Date: 2017
This book sets out the techniques, the systems and the craft required to edit compelling professional documentary television and film. The book works through the post-production process and explores project organization, assembling rushes, sequence editing, story structure, music and sound design, and the relationship between the editor and the director.

 

 

Music supervision: The complete guide to selecting music for movies, TV, games & new media by Ramsay Adams, David Hnatiuk & David Weiss

Call Number: 781.54/1
Publication Date: 2005
One of just a few books available on the topic of music supervision specifically ('matching' music to TV, live events, film, video games, ring tones, and a host of other media). This book guides you through real-world scenarios and legal landmines, explores sound design, and profiles key players.

 

Music editing for film and television: The art and the process by Steven Saltzman

Call Number: 780.149/1
Publication Date: 2015
Through an overview of the music editing process, this book will equip you with practical skills to solve musical problems encountered during editing. An abundance of interviews with industry professionals provide a range of perspectives on music editing for film. The book addresses an array of project types, from a low-budget documentary, to a Hollywood blockbuster, to an indie feature film.

 

Television production by Jim Owens

Call Number: 791.450232/74 (15th ed.)
Publication Date: 2012
This book provides a practical guide to professional TV and video production techniques and explores the major features of television production including cinematography, sound design, lighting, editing and production design. The book includes straightforward descriptions and explanations of the equipment used, and describes the best ways to use it. 

Journal Articles

Documentaries, lectures & Videos

Websites

Search the FIAF Database for Articles

Search the FIAF database

The links below will help you find journal articles. Log in using your Moodle credentials.

 

Television

Television 

Programs

Television - 

Production and Direction

Australian

Television

Television

Broadcasting

History of

Television

Television

Authorship

Documentary

Television

Video