General Filmmaking Resources

Audible is an audio-book and podcast service with over 400,000 titles. You can access Audible through the app for your mobile or tablet, and even through the Kindle app.

You can access Audible by filling out the request form at the link above.

Why search here? The International Index to Film Periodicals offers in-depth coverage of the world’s foremost academic and popular film journals

Content type: It offers full-text and bibliographic coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. It is the only database offering subject indexing of film periodicals from a controlled thesaurus. Some example publications include American Cinematographer, Cineaste, Film International, Journal of Popular Film & Television, Sight & Sound and Variety.

Coverage: It includes film literature from more than 300 periodicals since 1972 and television literature from 1979. Each entry consists of a full bibliographic description, an abstract and comprehensive headings (biographical names, film titles and general subjects).

The Journal of Screenwriting aims to explore the nature of writing for the moving image in the broadest sense, highlighting current academic thinking around scriptwriting whilst also reflecting on this with a truly international perspective and outlook. The journal will encourage the investigation of a broad range of possible methodologies and approaches to studying the scriptwriting form, in particular: the history of the form, contextual analysis, the process of writing for the moving image, the relationship of scriptwriting to the production process and how the form can be considered in terms of culture and society. The journal also aims to encourage research in the field of screenwriting, the linking of scriptwriting practice to academic theory, and to support and promote conferences and networking events on this subject.

Short Film Studies is a peer-reviewed journal designed to encourage research by new and established scholars and critics that reflects both the historical importance and the increasing prominence and diversity of short films in today's media landscape.