Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to Sound
Search this guide as a starting point for your research into Sound.
Sound Theory - Sound Practice by
Call Number: 778.5344/31
Publication Date: 1992-06-05
This book explores the fundamental theory of sound in cinema, from historical aspects to deep theory and fantastic information on different prespectives, genres and the different ways to deal with film sound.
Game Sound by
Call Number: 794.81/45
Publication Date: 2008-08-08
An examination of the many complex aspects of game audio, from the perspectives of both sound design and music composition. This book fills introduces readers to the many complex aspects of game audio, from its development in early games to theoretical discussions of immersion and realism. Game Sound has two underlying themes: how and why games are different from or similar to film or other linear audiovisual media; and technology and the constraints it has placed on the production of game audio.
The Sound Reinforcement Handbook by
Call Number: 621.3893/46 (2nd ed.)
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
Sound reinforcement is the use of audio amplification systems. This book is the first and only book of its kind to cover all aspects of designing and using such systems for public address and musical performance. The book features information on both the audio theory involved and the practical applications of that theory, explaining everything from microphones to loudspeakers.
Master Handbook of Acoustics by
Call Number: 620.2/2 (4th ed.)
Publication Date: 2000-09-22
Intends to apply the principles of acoustics to the audio arts. This book applies the theory to the design of specialized audio spaces such as the home listening room, the control room, and the multi-track-recording studio.
The Art of Mixing by
Call Number: 621.38932/9 (2nd ed.)
Publication Date: 2005-03-28
David Gibson's unique approach to mixing gives you a visual representation of the dynamics of the sounds involved in creating a musical mix. Through this three-dimensional, colorful explanation, you are introduced to a framework that will help you understand everything that an engineer does-- enabling you to not only recognize what you like, but how to achieve it in your studio.
Modern Recording Techniques by
Call Number: 621.3893/88 (7th ed.)
Publication Date: 2009-08-03
This expanded, up-to-date edition of Modern Recording Techniques can help guide you through the process of creating, understanding and mastering the professional and project studio. This definitive guide to audio covers the latest audio technologies, and includes expanded and enhanced sections on the Digital Audio Workstation (DAW), plug-ins, looping, groove tools, studio techniques, surround sound, mastering and more.
Mastering Audio by
Call Number: 621.3893/105 (2nd ed.)
Publication Date: 2007-10-03
Mastering Audio gives you a thorough introduction to the unique procedures and technical issues involved in mastering. Suitable for all levels of students and professionals, it is ideal for anyone who wants to increase their mastery of digital and analog audio: musicians, producers, A&R, mastering, recording, and mixing engineers.
Getting Great Sounds by
Call Number: 621.38284/17
Publication Date: 2009-06-24
Getting Great Sounds: The Microphone Book imparts these microphone tips and tricks of the pros to make them available to any sound engineer or home studio enthusiast. It explains all aspects of all kinds of microphones, how they work, and how to use them in session recording.
Sound Systems: Design and Optimization by
Call Number: 621.3893/128
Publication Date: 2006-11-21
With this definitive guide to sound reinforcement design and optimization, Bob McCarthy shares his expert knowledge and effective methodology developed from decades of field and teaching experience. McCarthy's unique guide reveals the proven techniques to ensure that your sound system design can be optimized for maximum uniformity over the space.
Golden ears [CD] by
Call Number: 621.3893/101
Publication Date: 1995
An audio ear-training course for recording engineers, producers and musicians.
Understanding and Crafting the Mix by
Call Number: 621.38932/13 (3rd ed.)
Publication Date: 2014-10-29
Provides the framework to identify, evaluate, and shape your recordings with clear and systematic methods .¿Sample production sequences and descriptions of the recording engineer¿s role as composer, conductor, and performer provide you with a clear view of the entire recording process.
The Recording Engineer's Handbook by
Call Number: 621.3893/108
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
Professional Audio's bestselling author Bobby Owsinski takes you into the tracking process for all manner of instruments and vocals-- providing you with the knowledge and skill to make sense of the many choices you have in any given project. From acoustic to electronic instruments, mic placement to EQ settings, everything you need to know to capture professionally recorded audio tracks is in this guide.
Dialogue Editing for Motion Pictures by
Call Number: 778.5344/48 (2nd ed.)
Publication Date: 2013-07-24
Produce professional level dialogue tracks with industry-proven techniques and insights from an Emmy Award winning sound editor. Gain innovative solutions to common dialogue editing challenges such as room tone balancing, noise removal, perspective control, finding and using alternative takes, and even time management and post-production politics.
Mixing Secrets for the Small Studio by
Call Number: 621.3893/134
Publication Date: 2011-02-25
Discover how to achieve release-quality mixes even in the smallest studios by applying power-user techniques from the world's most successful producers. Drawing on the back-room strategies of more than 100 famous names, this entertaining guide leads you step-by-step through the entire mixing process. On the way, you'll unravel the mysteries of every type of mix processing, from simple EQ and compression through to advanced spectral dynamics and 'fairy dust' effects.
The Dolby Era by
Call Number: 778.5344/39
Publication Date: 2005-05-01
Through historical analysis and interviews with key players, such as Ray Dolby (founder and creator of Dolby Laboratories), Ioan Allen (the initiator of the Dolby Stereo programme), sound designer Gary Rydstrom (Titanic, Terminator 2, Toy Story, Saving Private Ryan, Finding Nemo), and supervising sound editor Bruce Stambler (The Fugitive, Batman Forever, Clear and Present Danger, The Fast and the Furious, XXX) this book aims at providing a substantial account of sound in contemporary Hollywood cinema since the early 1970s.
Sound Design by
Call Number: 778.5344/36
Publication Date: 2001-10-25
Offers user-friendly knowledge and stimulating exercises to help compose story, develop characters and create emotion through skillful creation of the sound track.
The Sound Effects Bible by
Call Number: 778.5344/51
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
The Sound Effects Bible is a complete guide to recording and editing sound effects. The book covers topics such as microphone selection, field recorders, the ABCs of digital audio, understanding Digital Audio Workstations, building your own Foley stage, designing your own editing studio, and more.
Journal Articles & Magazines
Documentaries, Interviews, & Videos
Search the Library Catalogue
Sound in the Library
Click the tags below to find resources.
Search the FIAF Database for Articles
Search the FIAF database
Click the tags below to find journal articles.