Assessment Support

You can conduct your literature search using a range of tools including the library catalogue, journal databases, archival websites, and online search engines. 

A note on Google... It's fine to use it! Yes, we said it. BUT it's NOT fine to only use Google. Google can be a great starting point for initial information and a general overview of some topics. Then you'll need to dive deeper into your academic research to find reputable articles written by industry peers. 

A very good place to start...

The Library Catalogue 

To conduct a literature search you will need to search our library catalogue, our databases, and Google scholar. 

1. Begin by establishing what you want to know. Create a list of keywords and phrases to search. You can gather some keywords by doing some preliminary research on the subject using Google. 

Example Research Question:

When was feminism in film established in the Australian region? 

Keywords: Femisim, film, film industry, Australia, Oceania, 

         2. Search the library catalogue using your keywords. Try using different combinations of the words for different results. 

       3. Record any bibliographic information about a source that you may want to read. Note: The title, author, publication date and location of where the source can be found. 

The below video is where to find the search bar and an example of using the search bar to perform a keyword search then browsing the findings to select appropriate resources.

Most academic research and writing will involve reading and references journal articles written on your chosen topic. Articles are usually peer reviewed by industry leaders and professionals and provide current research, information and essays on a broad range of subjects.

How to do a Literature Search using the Databases

1. Visit the library homepage. and select the Databases button.  
2. Read through the different database options available to you. Note: Different databases will hold different information. 
3. Log in to the database you have selected using your Moodle credentials. 
4. Using your previous keywords - use the Advanced feature of the database search bar to search for your information. Note: You may wish to narrow your search to 'Full-text articles only' and 'Peer Reviewed Journals'.
5. Record the bibliographic information of the articles you wish to access.

The below video is how you can find relevant articles and references using the databases accessible via the library website.

The SLNSW has a broad range of databases that you can access. The short video will show you how to access articles and information from the SLNSW.

A collection of Australian and online resources: books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more. 

You can:

Create your own profile

Create lists of resources you find useful/ interesting

Link to libraries of which you are a member.