LibGuides: Staff FAQs: Searching

pic

`FAQs` `ABOUT` `SEARCHING`

How do I search the catalogue?

The full AFTRS Library catalogue is online and can accessed at aftrs.edu.au/supersearch.

For more information about search the catalogue check out a 'How to search' LibGuide.

The catalogue is not giving me any results.

The AFTRS Library catalogue is default to search only the physical items in the collection.

This can result in your search having no results.

To search the WHOLE AFTRS Library catalogue, both physical and online collections, use the 'Advance Search'.

For more information about using the Advance search click here.

How do I search for journal articles?

You can use the AFTRS Library catalogue to search for journal articles you will need to use the 'Advance Search'.

For more in-depth information about journal searching click here.

You can also search for journal articles:

FIAF Index to Film Periodicals Plus This link opens in a new window
FIAF Index to Film Periodicals Plus offers full-text and bibliographic coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. It is the only database offering subject indexing of film periodicals from a controlled thesaurus. It includes film literature from more than 300 periodicals since 1972 and television literature from 1979. Each entry consists of a full bibliographic description, an abstract and comprehensive headings (biographical names, film titles and general subjects).
Film Index International (FII) This link opens in a new window
Film Index International is a database with information on feature films, shorts, documentaries, TV movies, awards, production companies, credits, plot synopses, actors and more. It provides information on 90,000 films or shows since 1895. It contains citations of reviews and journal articles, as well as cast and crew credits. The FII is included in the ProQuest Screen Studies Collection, along with the AFI catalogue and FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database.
American Film Institute Catalog This link opens in a new window
Produced in collaboration with the American Film Institute, the American Film Institute Catalog is the premier resource for studying American motion pictures. It is the most comprehensive and detailed national filmography in the world. The Catalog includes the entire print version, which currently comprises five volumes documenting all films produced in the United Statesfrom 1892 to 1973, as well as new content and important updates for all previous records. Also included are records for the Institute’s Top Ten Films for the years 2000 to 2007. The Catalog offers authoritative plot summaries and insider production notes, as well as subject and song indexing for each film record.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a broad database of scholarly literature. The search is fairly intuitive, and you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.