It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Australian arts and entertainment site which reviews film, television, music, theatre, video games and books. They also conduct interesting interviews with filmmakers and other creative content producers.
Extensive collection of resources including articles, interviews and videos. Content includes film analysis, behind the scenes info, practical tips, career guidance, marketing advice and more, mostly from experts in the film, game and television industries. You can filter by discipline to find resources related to your area of study.
News from entertainment industries, including information about trailers, premieres, director's cut releases, casting decisions, festival selections and production company acquisitions. Dark Horizons avoids 'lite' entertainment news (e.g. celebrity gossip).
In Film Riot's video series, host Ryan Connolly covers everything from how to make a music video, to using CGI, to writing great characters, to casting your film. Includes interviews, tutorials with a comedic twist, behind-the-scenes videos and more.
FilmInk is Australia’s leading source on movies and the screen industry, with a foundation in and special focus on the Australian film industry. Includes film reviews, news, articles, filmmaker profiles, podcasts, trailers and more.
Filmmaker Magazine is a leading resource on independent cinema, and their website includes a wealth of interviews, articles and advice, all of which can be sorted by discipline (e.g. directing, screenwriting, etc.).
IF (In Focus) is Australia's primary magazine for screen content producers. Search under 'business' for distribution and funding news, see updates on projects in production, and check out upcoming film festivals.
The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) champions the future of storytelling by connecting artists with essential resources at all stages of development and distribution. Aimed at helping filmmakers navigate the industry and develop new audiences.
Mentorless is a filmmaking blog to help nurture craft and creativity in indie storytellers and filmmakers. It features masterclasses, case studies, interviews and reviews, plus a wealth of useful articles on budgeting and raising funds for screen projects. The Mentorless community promotes ongoing education, transcending borders, genders, race, age and economical means.
The Internet’s largest database of movie reviews, with critique on over 100,000 titles. MRQE (pronounced 'marquee') provides a searchable index of all published and available reviews, news, interviews, and other materials associated with specific movies. A unique combination of reviews, news and user discussion.
Run by Brooklyn based filmmaker Ryan Koo, No Film School offers solutions on how to get the most out of what you create in order to sustain a long career as a filmmaker, writer, director, producer, editor or cinematographer. They also link full scripts available to download in PDF form, usually for newer films where the screenplay has been submitted for award consideration.
PVC provides comprehensive information on production and post-production in multi-distribution film, and online, mobile and broadcast environments. Includes tips, articles and videos from writers, bloggers and video experts with experience in the film industry.
Screen Hub is the daily email news and employment service for people working in the Australian film and television industries. You can also find film reviews, career advice, events, festivals and giveaways, plus seminars, masterclasses and courses running in Australia.
AFTRS staff and students have access to a Screen Hub/Arts Hub subscription, which includes job listings and grants. Contact the library for details.
ScreenSkills is the UK's industry-led skills body for screen industries: animation, film, games, television, VFX and immersive technology. They provide insight, career development and other opportunities to help grow and sustain a skilled and inclusive creative workforce.
An Australian screen magazine publishing reviews, interviews, features, news and box office reports. Publication of the weekly newspaper ceased in 2017, but the website still has an archive of 22,000 articles, including an extensive section dedicated to Australian films.
"With years of experience behind them in entertainment publishing, film journalist Andrew L. Urban and his partner Louise Keller launched Urban Cinefile in February 1997."