It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This directory includes information and blogs on about 10,000 film festivals worldwide, plus over 85,000 articles, images and videos on international cinema and festivals. Includes a 'Call for entry' page showing festivals currently seeking entrants, as well as a social network to connect filmmakers and festival organisers.
Australian government initiative which provides businesses with access to expert advice and funding to cover eligible commercialisation costs. Aims to help businesses take novel products, processes and services to market.
Crowdfunding platform for projects by filmmakers, artists, dancers, musicians or anyone else working in the arts. Boost funding for shorts or feature films by connecting with a user base that is already invested in supporting Australian creative works.
The first in a series of articles on the U.S. motion picture industry. The goal of the series is to provide readers with current information about costs, revenues and risks in this influential industry. This article provides an introduction to how the industry operates, the challenges it faces, and what goes into making a movie.
Young, S. M., Gong, J. J., & Van der Stede, W. A. (2008). The Business of Making Movies. Strategic Finance. 89(8), 26-32
News from entertainment industries, including information about trailers, premieres, director's cut releases, casting decisions, festival selections and production company acquisitions. Dark Horizons avoids 'lite' entertainment news (e.g. celebrity gossip).
Filmmaking Stuff was established to provide useful tips and strategies to independent filmmakers. Their practical advice covers many aspects of screen business, including financing, marketing and distribution. Consider subscribing to gain access to their handy 'filmmaker checklists' which will help keep your project on track.
IF (In Focus) is Australia's primary magazine for screen content producers. Search under 'business' for distribution and funding news, see updates on projects in production, and check out upcoming film festivals.
The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) champions the future of storytelling by connecting artists with essential resources at all stages of development and distribution. Aimed at helping filmmakers navigate the industry and develop new audiences.
- Product design and development consultancy.
- Concept generation, research and prototyping through to volume manufacturing and onsite engineering contracting.
- Taking electronic products from concept through the commercialisation process.
Mentorless is a filmmaking blog to help nurture craft and creativity in indie storytellers and filmmakers. It features masterclasses, case studies, interviews and reviews, plus a wealth of useful articles on budgeting and raising funds for screen projects. The Mentorless community promotes ongoing education, transcending borders, genders, race, age and economical means.
Screen Australia is the Federal Government's primary agency for supporting Australian screen production. Find information about financing your project and applying for funding. (Various projects are eligible, including some grants for beginner filmmakers).
Screen Hub is the daily email news and employment service for people working in the Australian film and television industries. You can also find film reviews, career advice, events, festivals and giveaways, plus seminars, masterclasses and courses running in Australia.
AFTRS staff and students have access to a Screen Hub/Arts Hub subscription, which includes job listings and grants. Contact the library for details.
A bibliographic database featuring individuals and organisations from all sectors of corporate Australia. Each entry includes details of professional appointments, voluntary and honorary positions, career history, education and contact details.