LibGuides: Subject Guide: Producing &amp; Screen Business: Journals & Magazines

Journal Databases

Taylor & Francis: Media, Cultural & Communication Studies Database

Some of the journals in this collection:

Intellect: Film & Media Collection

Some of the journals in this collection:

FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals

Some of the journals in this collection:

Bloomsbury & Faber Screenplays and Criticism

The Bloomsbury and Faber Screenplays and Criticism database brings together a wide range of content from Bloomsbury and Faber & Faber to support studies of the moving image.

It offers searchable access to screenplays presented in industry-standard studio format; introductory overview articles with expert analysis of selected themes; and critical and contextual books on cinema, including coverage of practical techniques for filmmaking and screenwriting.

Jstor (Access through the NSW State Library)

Search here for these topics:

Architecture & Architectural History
Art & Art History
Arts and Performing Arts
Business Management & Organisational Behavior
Classical Studies
Film Studies
Finance
Marketing & Advertising
Music
Philosophy & Religion

Margaret Gee's Australian Media Guide (Access through the New South Wales State Library)

Search here for these topics:

Australian Media Contact Details

State Library NSW Databases (Access through the New South Wales State Library)

If you are a member of a public library in your state you can access more databases provided by your State. Click through the alphabetic list of databases on offer.

State Library Victoria Databases (Access through the State Library Victoria)

If you are a member of a public library in your state you can access more databases provided by your State. Click through the alphabetic list of databases on offer.

Alphaville: Journal of Film and Screen Media This link opens in a new window
Alphaville is a fully peer-reviewed online journal, edited and published by PhD and postdoctoral researchers in Film and Screen Media at University College Cork, Ireland. The open access journal is published twice a year, and stresses a rigorous and scholarly approach to film criticism. They publish papers, book reviews and film festival reports.
Cineaste Magazine This link opens in a new window
Established in 1967, Cineaste is a quarterly magazine which offers a social, political and aesthetic perspective on cinema. Their feature articles provide in-depth analysis of trends, genres and productions, with a stylistic emphasis on readability. Contributors are asked to consider sociopolitical context, artistic aspects of the topic and filmmaker intent. Cineaste publishes interviews with directors, performers, writers, composers, producers, distributors, technicians, or anyone else involved in the creative or business side of filmmaking.
AFTRS Library has a subscription to the print edition, and access to an online version through FIAF.
Filmmaker Magazine This link opens in a new window
Filmmaker is a quarterly publication magazine covering issues relating to independent film, currently published by the Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP). Each year Filmmaker publishes its '25 New Faces of Independent Film' list, showcasing independent film's emerging talent. The list typically contains directors, producers, actors and animators.
AFTRS Library holds print copies from 1994 to present, and digital access from 2007-2010.
Film Quarterly This link opens in a new window
Film Quarterly is devoted to the study of film, television, and visual media. It publishes scholarly analyses of international, Hollywood and independent films, including documentary and animation. The journal also revisits classic cinema, examines digital media, reports from film festivals, reviews recent academic publications, and sometimes explores video games and emergent technologies.
AFTRS Library holds print copies from 1951 to present.
Framework: The Journal of Cinema & Media This link opens in a new window
Framework is a peer-reviewed international journal published bi-annually by Wayne State University Press. With special interests in politics, prejudice and feminism, Framework seeks to publish work from original thinkers at the forefront of current sociocultural perspectives. It follows all aspects of film and media, in any genre or type, aiming to interface academic focus with current cultural and political developments.
Contact the AFTRS Library for digital access.
Harvard Business Review This link opens in a new window
Published by a subsidiary of Harvard University and reporting to their Business School, this journal focuses on strategy, innovation and leadership. The journal also features periodic spotlights on particularly industries (e.g. podcasting), collecting statistics and qualitative information on their current status and future directions.
Hollywood Reporter This link opens in a new window
Breaking news on both the business and creative side of the Hollywood screen industry. Also features podcasts; editorial-style blogs; and the award-winning Roundtables series with actors, writers and directors discussing their recent films.
IF Magazine This link opens in a new window
Film and television industry news for Australian content creators, with articles and updates on project funding; films and TV shows in production; distribution; film festivals; screen companies; and technological developments.
Metro Magazine This link opens in a new window
Published by Australian Teachers of Media (ATOM), Metro is an international film and screen culture journal which specialises in Australasian & Pacific film. It also covers television, video, multimedia, the internet & radio. Metro publishes well-informed, analytical and thought-provoking discussion and essays.
The AFTRS Library has full text digital access from 1975, and print copies from 1974.
MovieMaker Magazine This link opens in a new window
MovieMaker’s content is directed at independent cinema's audiences and artists. It features a mix of interviews, criticism, DIY techniques, festival coverage, distribution and financing tips, behind-the-scenes indie “war stories” and reviews of classic Hollywood actors, directors, cinematographers, producers, screenwriters and editors.
AFTRS Library has full text online access from 2013 to present, and holds print copies from prior iterations from the 1970s.
Platform Papers This link opens in a new window
The Platform Papers are an informed, quarterly essay series on Australia's performing arts industry, seeking new directions in music, theatre, dance, film, television and other entertainment. Issues covered include cultural policy, advocacy, copyright, defamation, arts training, innovation, the creative economy, race relations and digital arts.
The AFTRS Library has digital access from 2004, and print copies of selected essays.
RealTime This link opens in a new window
Available in its entirety online, RealTime magazine is Australia’s critical guide to national and international contemporary arts. Its scope covers experimentation in performance (e.g. live art, theatre, dance, music and sound) and photomedia (e.g. film, video, interactive media and hybrid arts). Find weekly-updated reviews, previews, interviews, opinion pieces, festival reports and multimedia content.
Senses of Cinema This link opens in a new window
Senses of Cinema is an digital journal devoted to in-depth analysis and eclectic discussion of cinema. Content includes festival reports, spotlights on significant directors, book reviews and more. As an Australian-based journal, they have a commitment to regular, wide-ranging analysis and critique of Australian cinema, past and present.
Sight & Sound Magazine This link opens in a new window
Published monthly by the British Film Institute (BFI), Sight & Sound has been reporting on the best in cinema since 1932. Features interviews with acclaimed directors, film reviews, first looks, retrospectives and more. Every decade, Sight & Sound asks an international group of critics and directors to vote for their ten greatest films of all time.
AFTRS Library has complete online full text access from the first issue in 1932.
Variety This link opens in a new window
Variety is one of the oldest major American entertainment magazines. A great source for expert film, TV, digital, music and theatre business news, analysis and insights.
AFTRS has a full online subscription. Contact the library.