It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Radio & Podcasting: Home
Introduction to Radio & Podcasting
Search this guide as a starting point for your research into Radio & Podcasting.
The essential handbook for anyone training to work in commercial, public, or community radio, with extensive coverage of the role of digital technologies in all aspects of the industry. It examines the key roles in radio: announcing, presenting, research, copywriting, producing, marketing, and promotions. It also outlines what is involved in creating different types of radio programs: news and current affairs, music, talkback, comedy, and WC features, as well as legal and regulatory constraints.
A clearly written and practical primer for the beginner and a welcome refresher course for the professional, "Word of Mouth" contains voice-over exercises, sample copy, and essential advice about producing a demo, auditioning, self-promoting, getting an agent, and what to expect on the job. It also provides exclusive and up-to-date lists of voice-over agents, coaches, workshops, and demo producers and duplicators. It is the standard text for numerous university communications, television, and acting department courses.
Of all the available means of communication, radio is still the one with the maximum reach in most developing countries. This book offers extremely practical guidance on how to design, write, and produce radio dramas aimed at motivating social change.
This practical and easy-to-read book, offers techniques to learn everything from how to produce and host a show, to news gathering, coverage of investigative and breaking stories, writing and delivering the commercial copy and selling the air time. With contributions from over 100 top experts across all broadcast fields, this book offers techniques, advice and lessons to build original programming, for news, programming, talk shows, producers, citizen journalism, copy writing, commercials, production, research, fundraising, and more.
This book is designed to provide an introduction to the modern radio production studio, the equipment found in that studio, and basic techniques to accomplish radio production work. The text also emphasizes digital equipment but also includes information on the older analog equipment still used in radio.
Modern Radio Production is a current, comprehensive look at radio production and programming that integrates cutting-edge technologies with explanations of traditional equipment and practices. A clear writing style, excellent descriptions and explanations, and attention to detail make this book easy to read and understand.
Know how video podcasts work and every facet of what it takes to produce a professional-quality program that will meet every criterion for success. With over 2500 episodes produced, the authors are seasoned pros and they can reveal what works and what doesn't with detailed, illustrated guidance. provides a blog, templates, planning documents, sample clips, and state-of-the-art updates.
This classic book is a must-have for anyone involved in radio production, covering everything from operational techniques and producing different program formats, to conducting interviews and writing for radio.
Radio Programming is designed to convey underlying principles and to assist the programmer in accomplishing specific objectives, without mandating exact implementation methods.It empowers station management to implement strategies that will work for the particular format and market niche. Radio Programming will be helpful for programming, experienced programmers seeking further growth, air talent seeking to develop skills, and general managers trying to effectively manage program directors without stifling creativity.
This is a practical guide to producing and presenting radio to a professional standard. Packed with advice that captures the essence and buzz of live broadcasting; from preparing your show before it goes out, last minute changes to running orders, deciding what to drop in over a track, how to sell a feature or promote a program, thinking fast in a phone in - this book will help you do all that and more. It covers network and commercial, music and talk radio skills and is particularly suited to the independent local or community radio.