Introduction to Editing: Home

This industry bible provides an accessible overview of the fundamental techniques and aesthetic considerations in different areas of filmmaking. Covering video formats from old school to digital, two award-winning filmmakers and teachers address all aspects of filmmaking. The book explains technical aspects of and common issues with film, video, lenses, sound recording, editing and lighting, including its practical appendices with tables on digital data rates, depth of field, lens angle and monitor calibration.

Now in full color for the first time, The Visual Story offers a clear view of the relationship between script structure and visual structure in film, video, animation and video games. Learn visual vocabulary from an expert, allowing cinematographers, directors, designers and editors to communicate moods and emotions more effectively, strengthening the overall story. This guide divides screen visuals into tangible sections: contrast and affinity; space, line and shape; movement and rhythm; and tone and colour.

Tell more effective visual stories by learning the "grammar" of cinematic language. Whether you're a whiz with Avid or have just discovered iMovie, this essential reference text answers the questions of when to cut and why. Each topic is expressed succinctly, with clear photographs and diagrams to illustrate key concepts. The companion website offers further instruction, video examples and practice exercises.

The newly-revised and updated fourth edition of Grammar of the Shot teaches readers the principles behind successful visual communication in motion media through shot composition, screen direction, depth cues, lighting, and camera movement. Together with its companion volume, Grammar of the Edit, this cinematography textbook provides a toolkit to help you build a successful visual story that flows smoothly.

Dancyger provides a precise, detailed look at the artistic principles and practices of editing for picture and sound. Analysis of classic and contemporary film stills is used to elucidate editing principles and show how to use cuts as storytelling tools for evoking specific audience responses. New chapters in this fifth edition cover topics like narrative clarity, subtext and dramatic emphasis.

Veteran film editor Norman Hollyn presents a guide to the editing process for those with a professional interest. Covers the editing process from pre-production image and sound, opticals, mixing and music editing through post-production, answer print and previews.

The first book to reveal the post-production process of a major motion picture edited entirely in Final Cut Pro. With anecdotes from director Anthony Minghella, edit staff and producers; and Murch's photos, emails and journal entries, this book offers a rare inside look at the creative process of one of cinema's giants. Murch himself shares his vision, approach, and thoughts on storytelling in this book which "reads like a thrilling suspense novel." (Barry Gifford, screenwriter)

Morante explores the international history, technology, theory, practical techniques, psychology and cognitive effects of editing across a range of media from around the world. Featuring a huge range case studies from film, dramatic television, news media, music videos, commercials and mobile-delivered formats; and self-study exercises, this book is an interesting academic treatise on editing.

Foreword by Francis Coppola
Starting with the question 'Why do cuts work?', Murch examines the aesthetics and practical concerns of cutting film, covering subjects like continuity versus discontinuity; dreaming versus real life; and emotional cues for a cut. In this second edition, Murch reconsiders and revises his original meditation on digital editing in light of rapid technological changes.

Award-winning editor Bobbie Osteen explains the art of editing by analysing the "out" and "in" frames of cuts from Hollywood classics. The text reveals how an editor manipulates audiences by using something akin to sleight of hand. An editor who can anticipate audience expectations and desires can create those invisible cuts that grab us by the seat of our pants and keep us there.

Filled with thought-provoking examples from a variety of international films, Pearlman explores how film editors think and make creative decisions. The book is in-depth study of rhythmic creativity and intuition; the processes and tools used to shape rhythms; and how rhythm engages audiences in film. This revised edition contains new chapters on collaboration, making onscreen drafts, sustaining audience empathy and more.

Designed for students and novice editors, this book is a great introductory text. Starting from basic definitions and principles, this book teaches aspiring editors how to speak the 'language' of images. It gives an overview of Final Cut Express, contains structured exercises and has example video clips on its companion DVD.

Reisz and Millar introduce readers to every aspect of the editor's craft, providing a concise history of editing and describing editing styles for a variety of filmmaking genres, including many types of narrative and documentary films.
Additional authors appointed by the British Film Academy.

A one-stop resource to guide you from initial concept to finished project. Covering topics like choosing a camera, lighting, production sound, directing, editing, color grading, and compositing, this fifth edition has been updated to include the latest hardware, software and production processes. New content includes coverage of filmmaking apps and digital distribution.

Van Hurkman draws on his wealth of industry experience to provide a thoroughly updated edition of the industry standard guide to colour correction. With a friendly, clear teaching style and a slew of real-world examples and anecdotes, this book demonstrates how to achieve professional results on any project, using various grading applications or editing programs' built-in colour correction tools.