It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to Animation and VFX_: Home
Introduction to Animation & VFX
Introduction to Animation and VFX
Search this guide as a starting point for your research into Animation and VFX.
In the Blink of an Eye is celebrated film editor Walter Murch's vivid, multifaceted, thought -- provoking essay on film editing. Starting with what might be the most basic editing question -- Why do cuts work?
This witty and fascinating study reminds us that there was animation before Disney: about thirty years of creativity and experimentation flourishing in such extraordinary work as Girdie the Dinosaur and Felix the Cat. Before Mickey, the first and only in-depth history of animation from 1898-1928.
The Conversationsis a treasure, essential for any lover or student of film, and a rare, intimate glimpse into the worlds of two accomplished artists who share a great passion for film and storytelling, and whose knowledge and love of the crafts of writing and film shine through.
This award-winning handbook is one of the most complete guides to visual effects techniques and best practices available. This new edition has been updated to include the latest industry-standard techniques, technologies and workflows. The Visual Effects Society (VES) tasked the original authors to update their areas of expertise, including in stereoscopic moviemaking, colour management, facial capture and the Digital Intermediate. They have also added detailed chapters on interactive games and full animation.
Few cinematographers have had as decisive an impact on the cinematic medium as John Alton, best known for his highly stylized film noir classics. First published in 1949, this book remains a powerful statement on the art of motion picture photography and provides unrivaled insight into the workings of postwar American cinema. In non-technical language, Alton explains the job of the cinematographer and how lighting, camera techniques and location choices determine the visual mood of film.
In this volume, Yusei Uesugi, Max Dennison, and Chris Thunig provide you with priceless matte painting techniques to improve your skills. The book covers the process from concept right through to painting and 3-D techniques and tricks, to the completion of complex environments.
The career and knowledge of Williams (Academy Award-winning animator behind Who Framed Roger Rabbit?) straddles the 'golden age' of hand-drawn animation and the modern era of computer animation. Based on his animation masterclasses, Williams runs through the underlying principles of animation. His points are illustrated with hundreds of drawings, distilling the animation secrets into a working system. The expanded edition includes more on animal action, invention and realism.
A New History of Animation by Maureen Furniss
Publication Date: 2016-09-15
A New History of Animation guides readers through the history and context of animation from around the world. The book assumes no prior knowledge of the subject and explains all the key technical concepts, filling a gap in the market for a complete and well-researched animation history textbook that can be used by teachers in trade schools and universities worldwide, as well as by readers interested in the story of this evolving medium.
Hooks' indispensable acting guidebook for animators uses basic acting theory to explain everything from character movement and facial expressions to interaction and scene construction. Just as acting on film and on stage are very different disciplines, so is the use of acting theory in creating an animated character, scene or story. AFTRS also holds the 4th edition (published 2017) as an eBook. Please visit the Library for onsite access.
The power of the image of the nude - the expressivity of the flesh - has inspired artists from the beginning. An understanding of human form is essential for artists to be able to express themselves with the figure. Anatomy makes the figure. Human Anatomy for Artists: The Elements of Form is the definitive analytical work on the anatomy of the human figure.
The de facto official source on facial animation. While thoroughly covering the basics such as squash and stretch, lip syncs, and much more, this new edition has been thoroughly updated to capture the very newest professional design techniques, as well as changes in software, including using Python to automate tasks. Provides in-depth techniques and tips for everyone from students and beginners to high-level professional animators and directors currently in the field.
A truly unique visual delight offering insight into the development of animation classics like Bambi, Beauty and the Beast, The Lion King, Lilo and Stitch as well as a tantalizing examination of unfinished Disney projects.
Designed after Alvarez's Creature Development course (taught at Hollywood's Gnomon School of Visual Effects), this 'class-in-a-box' includes 25 hours of lectures, 66 HD video clips for live action integration, and a 176 page book. This is intermediate level material which assumes that the student has a solid grasp of the fundamentals, from modeling and UV layout, to rigging and animation.
AWN.com is the biggest animation-related publishing group on the Internet. Their YouTube channels includes a range of compelling, entertaining and relevant information pertaining to all aspects of animation and visual effects. View short films showcasing visual effects and animation; trailers, clips and behind-the scenes featurettes; and interviews with industry professionals.
The career and knowledge of Williams (Academy Award-winning animator behind Who Framed Roger Rabbit?) straddles the 'golden age' of hand-drawn animation and the modern era of computer animation. Based on his animation masterclasses, Williams runs through the underlying principles of animation. His points are illustrated with hundreds of drawings and videos. This DVD accompanies the essential handbook.
Ghibli: The Miyazaki Temple by Montmayeur, Yves (2004)
This French television documentary is a journey into the universe of director Hayao Miyazaki and his Ghibli studio. Through interviews with fellow Ghibli filmmaker Isao Takahata, Ghibli President Toshio Suzuki and French comic artist Jean Moebius Giraud, we get to know the man who delivered some of the most inspiring visuals and incomparable landscapes and characters ever seen in animation.
This Japanese documentary follows the routines of filmmakers at Studio Ghibli, including Hayao Miyazaki, Isao Takahata, and Toshio Suzuki as they work to release two films simultaneously, The Wind Rises and The Tale of the Princess Kaguya. Features footage of the productions; extensive storyboard art (sketched, inked and painted); and detailed explanations of certain artistic and casting decisions.
A look at the first years of Pixar Animation Studios, the company's relationship with Disney, and its remarkable initial string of eight hits. It features never-before-seen footage of crew and contributors including Steve Jobs, Ed Catmull and John Lasseter. The AFTRS Library holds this documentary as a special feature on a Blu-ray copy of WALL·E.
Directed, written & animated by Sejong Park
During the Korean War, little Manuk plays on the streets of his village and dreams of life at the front. When he returns home, he finds a birthday present that will change his life. A heart rending short film, which earned AFTRS alumnus Park a BAFTA, many other film awards and an Oscar nomination.
Directed by Andrew Goldsmith & Bradley Slabe
Lost & Found is a stop motion short film that tugs at the heartstrings. A knitted toy dinosaur has to start unraveling itself to save the love of its life. Winner of multiple film festival awards and with art by AFTRS graduate Bradley Slabe, Lost & Found is definitely one we recommend! The AFTRS Library holds the companion book She, Me & Sashimi which sits somewhere between concept art, storyboard and standalone picture book.
Directed by Andrew Ruhemann & Shaun Tan
Based on Shaun Tan's award-winning picture book, The Lost Thing explores urban conformity and celebrates weird. Special features include storyboards, deleted scenes and commentary about the adaptation process.
Directed by George Miller, Warren Coleman & Judy Morris
Produced at Sydney-based visual effects and animation studio Animal Logic, Happy Feet is a delightful film about finding comfort in yourself, that also manages to be an inspiring cry for environmental action. Winner of the BAFTA and Oscar for best animated film.
Directed by Adam Elliot
The claymation biography of an ordinary man seemingly cursed with perpetual bad luck. Bittersweet, and with a solid helping of black humour, this short film is a must-see. Produced by AFTRS graduate Melanie Coombs, the film won the Academy Awards for Best Animated Short.
Directed by Eddie White & Ari Gibson
A city of singing cats is being preyed upon, and human footprints are being found at the scene of every missing cat. The film is narrated by a world weary poet (voiced by Nick Cave) in rhyming form. The art style is sleek, stylish, and captures a sense of foreboding extremely well.
Animation news updated every weekday. The site is also home to World Animation Celebration Online (WAC-O), an online film festival featuring animated shorts from around the world. Films are free to view. Site also features AniMag TV, a portal dedicated to trailers, shorts, sneak-peaks, and brief reports on animation events. Check out their career guide for a thorough list of training institutions around the world and online.
The Animation World Network is the largest animation-related publishing group on the Internet, providing readers from over 151 countries with a wide range of interesting, relevant and helpful information pertaining to all aspects of animation. Covering areas as diverse as animator profiles, independent film distribution, commercial studio activities, licensing, CGI and other animation technologies, as well as in-depth coverage of current events in all fields of animation.
Aotg.com is a site where post professionals a film professionals can share and discuss content that they find from around the web that is post production related, with other post professionals. If you run a post blog, podcast, magazine, or discover something that is post related, share it at Aotg.com.
Blender is a free, open source, 3D creation software. This is the companion website to the how-to guide Learning Blender. Animator and teacher Oliver Villar shares his wealth of practical experience, with free tutorial videos on everything from rigging legs for movement, to scene analysis, to building a spaceship.
A great collection of resources for aspiring animators, game designers and CG artists. Includes tutorial videos; annotated reading lists; software guides for programs like 3ds Max and Blender; reviews of drawing tools, books and software; and interviews with animators and VFX artists.
Since 2001, Creative COW has proven the largest and most successful long-running community dedicated to supporting professionals working in film, video, and audio. Over the years, we’ve help forge some powerful relationships. Let us help you share your story, to help you find your peers and maybe open a door or maybe even the world for you.
We’re 2300 colleagues over 200 brands speaking to more than 390 million people every month across the globe through websites, events and magazines. We’re the name behind content that connects people to their passions in technology, gaming & entertainment, home interest, women’s lifestyle, music, creative & photography, hobbies and knowledge, all supported by our innovative tech stack.
The Editor Academy is the most exciting new direction in non-linear editor training... ever
Top quality training, customised, personal and online when and where you want it
You'll never edit the same way again... ever
Use the links above to see who we are and what we do. Browse our online tutorials in the VIDEO section, check out our SERVICES, read all ABOUT us or drop us a line using the CONTACT page.
Enjoy your visit to our site and we look forward to having you as a valued customer really soon...
Ozanimate is a community based website aimed at anyone interested in animation, with a focus on Australian animation. The non-profit website aims to be a source of news and entertainment on TV series, short films and feature films from ‘down under’. Ozanimate also provides resources to help both animation students and professionals. Find job listings, a directory of schools and studios, tutorials, guidance, and hardware reviews.
PVC provides comprehensive information on production and post-production in multi-distribution film, and online, mobile and broadcast environments. Includes tips, articles and videos from writers, bloggers and video experts with experience in the film industry.
Stash showcases exceptional motion design, visual effects and animation projects. Exclusively available online, each issue includes music videos; game trailers, and cinematics; short films; behind-the-scenes features; and exclusive interviews.