Research
Research
Explore historical and contemporary research.
Australian Government's Archival Institutions
- National Film and Sound Archives (NFSA) This link opens in a new windowNFSA is Australia's 'living' archive, consisting of over 2.8 million items. It collects, preserves and shares the nation's audiovisual material.
- Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS) This link opens in a new windowAIATSIS is a research, collections and publishing organisation. Collection includes print, moving image, sound recording and photographic materials.
- Australian National Maritime Museum - Collections This link opens in a new windowDiverse range of historic artefacts. Collection themes are based on Australian’s changing relationship with the maritime environment, seas, coastlines and inland waterways, and aims to reflect the maritime history and contemporary maritime experiences of all Australians.
- National Archives of Australia (NAA) This link opens in a new windowThe NAA keep and care for significant records of the Australian Government. Most of these records were received, created or found by government agencies. The collection consists of tens of millions of items, and includes records about immigration, military service, transport, Indigenous Australians, science, the environment, and much more.
The collection documents Australian government activities since Federation. From dramatic events that shaped the nation to decisions that touched the lives of individual Australians, the records the National Archives holds are about people (whether ordinary, famous, infamous, or something in between) and their interactions with the Australian Government.
- The State Records Office of Western AustraliaThe State Records Office of Western Australia is the Western Australian public records authority with responsibility for managing, preserving and providing access to the State's records. The State Records Office operates as an independent Government agency within the Department of Culture and the Arts.
- Queensland State Archives (QSA) This link opens in a new windowThe Queensland State Archives comprise millions of public records dating back to the Moreton Bay penal settlement of 1823. Search historical documents, photos and maps on family history, immigration, schooling, crime and much more.
- Tasmanian Archives + HeritageThe Archives contain descriptions of State and local government and private records including files, letters, manuscripts, maps, plans, photographs films and more.
- Public Record Office of Victoria (PROV) This link opens in a new windowArchive of government records covering births, deaths, adoption, transport records, inquests, crime and more.
Information is archived from various departments including the administration of justice, immigration, health & welfare, land, education, housing, planning, transport, resource management.
The records date from the establishment of the Port Phillip District in the mid-1830s to the present day. - NSW State Archives This link opens in a new windowProvides a huge collection of NSW Government records on births, deaths, marriages, education, inquests, environment, health and more.
- State Records of South AustraliaState Records is the official custodian for archival records created by State and Local Government agencies within South Australia.
Code of Ethics Research
Research Sources
Code of EthicsIn October 2020 AIATSIS published the AIATSIS Code of Ethics for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Research (the AIATSIS Code). This document supersedes and replaces the AIATSIS Guidelines for Ethical Research in Australian Indigenous Studies 2012 (GERAIS). All references to GERAIS in Australian research codes and guidance should be taken to refer to this Code.
Indigenous Research ExchangeThe aim of the Indigenous Research Exchange is to improve outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples by ensuring there is more involvement and agency in research projects.
We encourage and support Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities to set research priorities, lead projects and determine the appropriate collection and use of data about communities.
The Exchange is an exciting opportunity for AIATSIS and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and organisations to work together to translate research into meaningful, useful and practical information.
Australia’s National Institute for Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Health ResearchWe work for the health and wellbeing of Australia's First Peoples through quality research, knowledge translation and by supporting Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health researchers.