Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Magazines: A-Z List of Magazines

 

An A-Z list of all our current print magazines, as well as a selection of digital magazines.


Please note:

► Print magazines are not for loan (in-library use only)

►Access to digital subscriptions are restricted to staff and students only.

► Contact the library for access to digital subscriptions where necessary.

A

A24 Zine

Print


A collection of zines by the A24 film distributor, guest edited by the directors of its productions.

American Cinematographer

Print & Digital


The international publication of the ASC (American Society of Cinematographers)

Animation magazine

Print & Digital


Covering the animation industry, incl. film and tv animation, visual effects and video games.

Aperture

Print & Digital


The Magazine of Photography and Ideas.

Architecture Australia

Digital


The national magazine of the AIA presents provocative, informative and engaging discussion.

Archives & Manuscripts

Digital


The professional and scholarly journal of the Australian Society of Archivists, publishing articles, reviews, and information about the theory and practice of archives and recordkeeping in Australasia and around the world. 

Artlink

Digital


Australian contemporary art magazine; visual art, Australian artists, Indigenous art and more.

Art Monthy Australasia

Print & Digital


Australasia's only in-depth monthly visual arts magazine.

Australian Cinematographer

Print


Asia-Pacific’s leading cinematography magazine and quarterly journal of the Australian Cinematographers Society (ACS).

Australian Photography

Digital


Photographer profiles, product reviews and useful tips to help you improve planning, shooting, editing and sharing your images.

B - E

Black Camera

Print


A journal of Black film studies, is devoted to the study and documentation of the Black cinematic experience.

Bookforum

Print & Digital


An American book review magazine devoted to books and the discussion of literature.

Camera Obscura 

Digital


A forum for scholarship and debate on feminism, culture, and media studies. 

Cinéaste

Print


An American quarterly film magazine that was established in 1967.

 

 

Cinefex

Print


A bi-monthly journal covering visual effects in the movies.

CinemaEditor

Print


A quarterly magazine published by American Cinema Editors (ACE).

Cinema Scope

Print


A magazine of film reviews, criticism news & comments, uniting experienced critics with new writers.

Continuum

Digital


An academic journal of media and cultural studies, of central importance to all scholars involved in the fields of  research and teaching.

F - H

Feminist Media Studies

Digital


Provides a transdisciplinary, transnational forum for researchers pursuing feminist approaches to the field of media and communication studies

Film Comment

Print & Digital


Reviews and analysis of mainstream, art-house, and avant-garde filmmaking from around the world.

Film Criticism

Digital


Writings from film historians, theorists, and critics representing many different disciplines, cultures, and critical perspectives.

Film International

Digital


Encouraging critical study and public discussion of the role of moving images in our society, bridging the gap between academics and cineastes.

Filmmaker

Print


A quarterly publication magazine covering issues relating to independent film.

Film Quarterly

Print & Digital


In-depth articles, reviews, and interviews on all aspects of cinema, media, and society—from film classics to emergent technologies.

The Happy Reader

Print


A unique magazine that celebrates the pure pleasure of reading and the calming luxury of being offline.

Harvard Business Review

Print & Digital


A general management magazine published by Harvard Business Publishing (Harvard University).

I - L

ICG 

Print (Digital coming soon)


The magazine of The International Cinematographers Guild.

IF: Inside Film

Print


The latest industry news for Australian screen content professionals.

International Documentary

Digital


Provides engaging, pragmatic and provocative coverage of the documentary field, linking the local and international communities of nonfiction makers.

Journal of Adaptation in Film & Performance

Digital


Focusing on theatre, film and other media, this journal discusses the place of adaptation and translation within historical and contemporary cultures.

Journal of International Communications

Digital


A scholarly journal providing a forum for discussion for the various geo-academic approaches to the study of global communication.

 

Journal of Media Ethics

Digital


Devoted to stimulating and contributing to reasoned discussions of media ethics and morality among academic and professional groups in the various branches and subdisciplines of communication and ethics.

Journal of Popular Film and Television

Digital


Representing a cross section of critical-cultural perspectives and “public visions” of popular filmmakers, tv showrunners and the like.

Journal of Radio and Audio Media

Digital


A semiannual publication designed to promote scholarly dialogues generated by various disciplinary and methodological points of view. 

Lapham’s Quarterly

Print & Digital


An intriguing literary magazine. Each issue examines a theme using primary source material from history.

The Lifted Brow

Digital


Australian literary publication with fiction, essays, art, comics, and commentary on areas ranging from maths to celebrity to design.

Little White Lies

Print


Combining cutting-edge design, illustration and journalism; and committed to championing great movies and the talented people who make them.

M - R

Metro 

Print & Digital


Essays, articles and interviews on Australian, New Zealand and Asian film, tv, radio, animation, games and new media.

The Monthly

Print & Digital


One of Australia’s boldest voices, providing enlightening commentary and vigorous debate on the issues that affect the nation.

New Philosopher

Print


Devoted to exploring philosophical ideas from past and present thinkers on ways to live a more fulfilling life.

The New York Review of Books

Print & Digital


 Articles on literature, culture, economics, science and current affairs.

Perspective

Print


The magazine of the Art Director's Guild (USA).

Photofile

Digital


Published by the Australian Centre for Photography, featuring quality reproductions, essays, surveys and reviews. Each edition has a different theme and often a different guest editor.

Quarterly Essay

Digital


Trailblazing Australian journal of politics and culture. Each issue contains a single essay written at a length, followed by correspondence on previous essays. 

Quarterly Review of Film and Video

Digital


Publishes critical, historical, and theoretical essays, book reviews, and interviews in the area of moving image studies including film, video, and digital imagery studies.

 

Riposte

Print


Profiles and candid interviews with bold and fascinating women, discussing their successes & failures, their work, their passions and perspectives.

Rolling Stone

Print


An American monthly magazine that focuses on popular music and culture.

S - Z

The Saturday Paper

The Saturday Paper

A quality, independent title, dedicated to narrative journalism. It publishes key accounts of the week’s most pressing stories.

Screen

Digital


Publishes leading international research in academic film and television studies, covering a wide range of issues, both contemporary and historical, from a variety of disciplinary perspectives.

Screen Education

Print


Written by and for teachers and students in primary and secondary schools in all curriculum areas, as well as some areas of tertiary study. The magazine also publishes articles by educators, scholars and critics.

Sight & Sound

Print & Digital


A British monthly film magazine published by the British Film Institute.

Souls: A Critical Journal of Black Politics, Culture, and Society

Digital


Publishes work on our understanding of history, politics, social theory & culture in ways that create new possibilities for the pursuit of social justice.

Studies in European Cinema

Digital


An outlet for research into any aspect of European cinema and is unique in its interdisciplinary nature, celebrating the rich and diverse cultural heritage across the continent.

Variety

Digital


An American magazine that covers entertainment news, reviews, box office results, and cover stories.

Vault

Print


An Australasian Art and Culture magazine, identifying the pre-eminent artists, designers, collectors and enthusiasts in Australia, New Zealand and beyond.

Velvet Light Trap

Digital


Collectively edited by alumni of the University of Wisconsin (Madison) and The University of Texas (Austin), each issue provokes debate about critical, theoretical, and historical topics relating to a particular theme.

Wallpaper

Print


A publication focusing on design and architecture, fashion, travel, art, and lifestyle.

Wired

Print


A monthly American magazine, that focuses on how emerging technologies affect culture, the economy, and politics.

WOTH: Wonderful Things

Print


Each issue talks to 5 of the sharpest minds around: young, old, chefs, architects, entrepreneurs, and offers readers an inside look into the homes and studios of these makers.

Zoetrope: All-story

Print


Founded by Francis Ford Coppola in 1997, Zoetrope: All-Story is a quarterly print art magazine of short fiction, one-act plays, and essays on film.