RECOMMENDED READING
- Cinematography: Theory and Practice by Call Number: 778.53/119 (3rd ed.)Publication Date: 2016Imagemaking for Cinematographers and Directors
While some aspects of visual storytelling, lighting and colour are constant over time, shooting methods, workflow and cameras have changed radically. These changes affect cinematographers and technicians, but also the director. This book and its companion website cover everything from visual languages to continuity to lighting methods, with both introductory essentials and advanced content. 
FilmCraft: Cinematography by Call Number: 778.53/170Publication Date: 2012As chief collaborators with the directors on a film, cinematographers are artistic masters in their own right. In Cinematography, sixteen of the world’s greatest “painters of light” share their insights, anecdotes and technical achievements through a series of exclusive interviews. Fascinating for both film fans and practitioners, this book is the perfect companion for anyone who wants to stand on the other side of the camera, with some of the greatest film artists of our time.
Mastering Multi Camera Techniques by Call Number: 778.53/159Publication Date: 2010From a basic two-camera interview to an elaborate 26 camera HD concert film, this comprehensive guide presents a platform-agnostic approach to the essential techniques required to set up and edit a multi-camera project. Actual case studies are used to examine specific usages of multi-camera editing and include a variety of genres including concerts, talk shows, reality programming, sit-coms, documentaries for television, event videography and feature films.
Cinematography by Call Number: 778.5309/14Publication Date: 2014This text provides a comprehensive overview of how the field of Cinematography has evolved from the early silent film era to the digital imagery of today. Learn how films come to look the way they do, and how the way a film is shot shapes audience reactions.
Contributions by C. Cagle, L. Dombrowski, B. Schauer, P. Ramaeker & C. Lucas
Master Shots Vol 1: 100 Advanced Camera Techniques to Get an Expensive Look on your Low-Budget Movie by Call Number: 778.53/150 [Vol. 1] (2nd ed.)Publication Date: 2012Master Shots gives filmmakers the techniques they need to execute complex, original shots on any budget. Develop a strong style and learn techniques to respond to on-set changes. Even when the clock is ticking and the light is fading, the techniques in this book can rescue your scene, and make every shot look like it cost a fortune. illustrated samples from great feature films and computer-generated diagrams provide absolute clarity.
Master Shots Vol 2: 100 Ways to Shoot Great Dialogue Scenes by Call Number: 778.53/150 [Vol. 2]Publication Date: 2011Learn 100 ways to shoot dialogue, with examples from popular movies showing how to set up your camera and move your actors to give each scene drama, clarity, and energy. Avoid boring talking heads, and make your dialogue look as good as it sounds.
Master Shots Vol 3 The Director's Vision: 100 Setups, Scenes, and Moves for your Breakthrough Movie by Call Number: 778.53/150 [Vol. 3]Publication Date: 2013A highly visual exploration of the best shots, moves, and set-ups in the industry. This books reveals the techniques behind each shot's success, so they can be adapted to your scenes.- Lighting for Cinematography: A Practical Guide to the Art and Craft of Lighting for the Moving Image by Call Number: 778.5343/44Publication Date: 2014Good pictures require good lighting, no matter how fancy the camera is. A film's story could be the greatest ever told, but if its shots are poorly lit viewers will assume it's amateurish and not take it seriously. This book covers topics like lighting for movement, working with windows, night lighting, the three planes of action, and lighting for documentary. Every chapter includes stills, lighting diagrams and key advice from professionals in the field, as well as exercises to help the reader put into practice what was covered.
The Filmmaker's Eye: Learning (and Breaking) the Rules of Cinematic Composition by
Call Number: 778.53/168Publication Date: 2011Mercado's beautiful book reveals the inner workings of cinematic shooting, demonstrating how visuals communicate with an audience. Gain a deeper understanding of the role each shot plays in the larger narrative scheme of your film, and the technical requirements necessary to achieve powerful and memorable images. Loaded with full-color examples, this focused, easy-to-reference guide shows you how to become an eloquent visual storyteller through smart, expressive choices for every shot.
Writing with Light: Images & Words by Call Number: 778.5343/28Publication Date: 2001A three volume collection of writings, images and philosophical musings representing Storaro's 30 year filmography. The first volume, In Journey with Light, looks at the emotional quality evoked by different types of lighting. Chromatic Emotion examines the power and meaning of colour. The Equilibrium of Elements considers what the author describes as 'natural elements of life' (e.g. conscious/unconscious, water, fire, energy). Also includes a DVD with film examples.
Digital Cinematography by Call Number: 778.53/174Publication Date: 2014Cinematographers need to master the arts of lighting, composition, framing and other aesthetic considerations, as well as the technology of digital cameras, recorders, and workflows, and must know how to choose the right tools to get the job done. This text focuses primarily on the tools and technology of the trade, looking at how digital cameras work, the ramifications of choosing one camera versus another, and how those choices help creative cinematographers to tell a story.
The VES Handbook of Visual Effects by Call Number: 778.5345/48 (2nd ed.)Publication Date: 2014This award-winning handbook is one of the most complete guides to visual effects techniques and best practices available. This new edition has been updated to include the latest industry-standard techniques, technologies and workflows. The Visual Effects Society (VES) tasked the original authors to update their areas of expertise, including in stereoscopic moviemaking, colour management, facial capture and the Digital Intermediate. They have also added detailed chapters on interactive games and full animation.
Painting with Light by
Call Number: 778.5343/21Publication Date: 1995Few cinematographers have had as decisive an impact on the cinematic medium as John Alton, best known for his highly stylized film noir classics. First published in 1949, this book remains a powerful statement on the art of motion picture photography and provides unrivaled insight into the workings of postwar American cinema. In non-technical language, Alton explains the job of the cinematographer and how lighting, camera techniques and location choices determine the visual mood of film.
Screencraft: Cinematography by Call Number: 778.53/96Publication Date: 1999Cinematography is a unique venture which aims to unravel for the first time the multi-layered language of film-making, by exploring the fusion of crafts which combine to create the most important art form of the 20th century. The cinematographers featured in this book encompass three generations of filmmaking and represent a diversity of film cultures. What they have in common is the contribution they have made to a universal cinema heritage and the fact that their work has helped to expand -- if not revolutionize -- the language of film.
Cinematography: A Guide for Filmmakers and Film Teachers by Call Number: 778.53/37 (3rd ed.)Publication Date: 2005Since its initial publication in 1973, Cinematography has become an essential guidebook for filmmakers. With a combined fifty years in the film and television industries, the authors lay clear and concise groundwork for basic camera techniques, before covering more advanced techniques in post-production, digital editing and overall film production.
The Five C's of Cinematography: Motion Picture Filming Techniques Simplified by Call Number: 778.53/6Publication Date: 1973With the aid of hundreds of photographs and diagrams, this classic guide clearly and concisely presents the essential concepts and techniques of motion picture camerawork and the allied areas of filmmaking that they interact with and impact. Branching out from 5 subject areas - camera angles, continuity, cutting, close-ups and composition - Mascelli provides a detailed, practical course in visual thinking. The book includes dicussion of cinematic time and space; compositional rules; point-of-view; camera height and angle; master scenes; types of editing; and screen direction.
In the Blink of an Eye: A Perspective on Film Editing by Call Number: 778.535/29 (2nd ed.)Publication Date: 2001Foreword by Francis Coppola
Starting with the question 'Why do cuts work?', Murch examines the aesthetics and practical concerns of cutting film, covering subjects like continuity versus discontinuity; dreaming versus real life; and emotional cues for a cut. In this second edition, Murch reconsiders and revises his original meditation on digital editing in light of rapid technological changes.
