NEWS, NETWORKING, TOOLS AND TUTORIALS
These multidisciplinary filmmaking resources include forums, blogs, tools, tutorials, news, feature articles and reviews.
- British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) - Guru This link opens in a new windowExtensive collection of resources including articles, interviews and videos. Content includes film analysis, behind the scenes info, practical tips, career guidance, marketing advice and more, mostly from experts in the film, game and television industries. You can filter by discipline to find resources related to your area of study.
- Cinephilia & BeyondWith positive testimonials from the likes of Guillermo del Toro and William Friedkin, Cinephilia & Beyond is a must-visit blog. Filter articles by discipline to search through their wealth of insightful scene breakdowns, film analysis, writing inspiration and practical guidance.
- Creative Cow This link opens in a new windowPeer to peer online creative community for media production professionals. Includes online tutorials; forums on editing software and hardware; and job listings.
- Daily ReviewAustralian website Daily Review is a source of engaging and insightful arts and entertainment news, reviews and commentary. They cover screen arts (film, television, video games), theatre and music.
- Dark Horizons This link opens in a new windowNews from entertainment industries, including information about trailers, premieres, director's cut releases, casting decisions, festival selections and production company acquisitions. Dark Horizons avoids 'lite' entertainment news (e.g. celebrity gossip).
- Film Riot This link opens in a new windowIn Film Riot's video series, host Ryan Connolly covers everything from how to make a music video, to using CGI, to writing great characters, to casting your film. Includes interviews, tutorials with a comedic twist, behind-the-scenes videos and more.
- FilmInk This link opens in a new windowFilmInk is Australia’s leading source on movies and the screen industry, with a foundation in and special focus on the Australian film industry. Includes film reviews, news, articles, filmmaker profiles, podcasts, trailers and more.
- Filmmaker MagazineFilmmaker Magazine is a leading resource on independent cinema, and their website includes a wealth of interviews, articles and advice, all of which can be sorted by discipline (e.g. directing, screenwriting, etc.).
- IF MagazineIF (In Focus) is Australia's primary magazine for screen content producers. Search under 'business' for distribution and funding news, see updates on projects in production, and check out upcoming film festivals.
- The Gotham This link opens in a new windowThe Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) champions the future of storytelling by connecting artists with essential resources at all stages of development and distribution. Aimed at helping filmmakers navigate the industry and develop new audiences.
- IndieWire This link opens in a new windowNews and networking for independent-minded filmmakers, the industry and moviegoers. Source for film and television news, reviews, interviews, global festival coverage and more.
- Mentorless This link opens in a new windowMentorless is a filmmaking blog to help nurture craft and creativity in indie storytellers and filmmakers. It features masterclasses, case studies, interviews and reviews, plus a wealth of useful articles on budgeting and raising funds for screen projects. The Mentorless community promotes ongoing education, transcending borders, genders, race, age and economical means.
- Movie Review Query Engine (MRQE) This link opens in a new windowThe Internet’s largest database of movie reviews, with critique on over 100,000 titles. MRQE (pronounced 'marquee') provides a searchable index of all published and available reviews, news, interviews, and other materials associated with specific movies. A unique combination of reviews, news and user discussion.
- New York Film Academy: Best Websites for FilmmakersThe first iteration of this list was published in 2014, and it has been continuously updated since then. Based on suggestions from NY Film Academy students and teachers, websites include VFX and sound libraries; software and hardware assistance; box office reports and online filmmaking communities.
- No Film SchoolRun by Brooklyn based filmmaker Ryan Koo, No Film School offers solutions on how to get the most out of what you create in order to sustain a long career as a filmmaker, writer, director, producer, editor or cinematographer. They also link full scripts available to download in PDF form, usually for newer films where the screenplay has been submitted for award consideration.
- ProVideo Coalition (PVC) This link opens in a new windowPVC provides comprehensive information on production and post-production in multi-distribution film, and online, mobile and broadcast environments. Includes tips, articles and videos from writers, bloggers and video experts with experience in the film industry.
- Screen Australia - Media Centre This link opens in a new windowThe Media Centre includes news related to Australian film production, research, development and funding.
- Screen Daily This link opens in a new windowScreen Daily is Screen International's online newsletter. It delivers analysis, opinion and commentary on the issues, people and products shaping the film industry worldwide. Find reviews, box office information, editorials and more.
- Screen Hub This link opens in a new windowScreen Hub is the daily email news and employment service for people working in the Australian film and television industries. You can also find film reviews, career advice, events, festivals and giveaways, plus seminars, masterclasses and courses running in Australia.
- Screen Hub - Artshub This link opens in a new windowArtsHub is Australia's leading online resource for professionals working in the arts. Their journalism covers the latest news in performing arts, visual arts, literary arts, and design.
- ScreenSkills UK This link opens in a new windowScreenSkills is the UK's industry-led skills body for screen industries: animation, film, games, television, VFX and immersive technology. They provide insight, career development and other opportunities to help grow and sustain a skilled and inclusive creative workforce.
- ShowcastComprehensive casting resource for Australia and New Zealand. Find actors, agents and other screen professionals.
- Strictly Film School This link opens in a new windowEssays, readings, journal articles and other analyses of film works and cinematic movements, with a focus on independent and non-American cinema.
- UbuWeb Film & Video This link opens in a new windowUbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to the avant-garde and ethnopoetics. Find hundreds of independent films available online, biographical information about their creators, essays and recordings with avant-garde thinkers and creators, and more. The site began as an online repository for concrete and visual poetry, and has shifted to encompass a broader scope of creative and philosophical crafts.
- Urban Cinefile This link opens in a new windowAn Australian screen magazine publishing reviews, interviews, features, news and box office reports. Publication of the weekly newspaper ceased in 2017, but the website still has an archive of 22,000 articles, including an extensive section dedicated to Australian films.