LibGuides: Television: Television

Free TV Australia
Industry body which represents all of Australia’s commercial free-to-air television broadcasters.
Freeview
The Freeview site includes a a free-to-air TV guide and the ability to save a personalised schedule of programs across many channels. Freeview FV is an aggregated live streaming app, delivering shows from 20 free-to-air channels and catch-up content from all FTA broadcasters to enjoy on an Android or iOS device.
Nine Now
Watch Channel 9 Live and On Demand. Create a free account to stream full shows or highlights.
ABC Television
Launched a single radio service in 1932, the ABC has developed into a multi-platform media operation and a public broadcaster of international renown, delivering Australian stories and conversations across the nation and to the region. The ABC Charter, set down by Parliament, requires the ABC to provide informative, entertaining and educational services that reflect the breadth of the nation.
Foxtel (Pay TV)
Pay television company that showcases live sport, world class dramas, and blockbuster movies alongside Netflix, Prime Video, Disney+, and more in one interface.
Imparja Television
Imparja is a free-to-air television broadcaster which primarily services outback Australia. They provide digital infill for black spots east of the Western Australia border and satellite service for ICTV (Indigenous Community TV). Imparja’s founders, directors and shareholders are all Aboriginal.
National Indigenous Television (NITV)
A channel made by and about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. NITV informs and entertains both Indigenous and non-Indigenous audiences about the issues that matter the most to Indigenous Australians.
SBS Television
SBS was founded on the belief that all Australians, regardless of geography, age, cultural background or language skills should have access to quality, independent, culturally-relevant Australian media. SBS Television reaches over 13 million Australians each month across SBS, SBS 2/SBS VICELAND, NITV and online. Around half of of their programming is in a language other than English, and a huge range of programs are made accessible to people from different language backgrounds by their award-winning subtitling unit. Stream on the app or website with SBS On Demand.
Ten Network
TenPlay is Network Ten’s multi-platform catch-up TV and video portal. It includes all TEN, ONE and ELEVEN shows, plus news, sport and Ten's TV Guide.

Dark Horizons
News from entertainment industries, including information about trailers, premieres, director's cut releases, casting decisions, festival selections and production company acquisitions. Dark Horizons avoids 'lite' entertainment news (e.g. celebrity gossip).
Movie Review Query Engine (MRQE)
The Internet’s largest database of movie reviews, with critique on over 100,000 titles. MRQE (pronounced 'marquee') provides a searchable index of all published and available reviews, news, interviews, and other materials associated with specific movies. A unique combination of reviews, news and user discussion.
Rotten Tomatoes
Rotten Tomatoes and the Tomatometer score are the world’s most trusted recommendation resources for quality entertainment. As the leading online aggregator of movie and TV show reviews from critics, we provide fans with a comprehensive guide to what’s Fresh – and what’s Rotten – in theaters and at home.
Internet Movie Database (IMDB)
IMDb is the world's most popular and authoritative source for movie, TV and celebrity content. We offer a searchable database of more than 250 million data items including more than 4 million movies, TV and entertainment programs and 8 million cast and crew members. IMDb launched online in 1990 and has been a subsidiary of Amazon.com since 1998.

Film Comment : Reviews
Film reviews published in the bi-monthly Film Comment Magazine.
New York Times Movie Reviews
New York Times film critics on blockbusters, independents and everything in between.
The Monthly : Film Reviews
Film reviews published by The Monthly Magazine.
4:3 : Film Reviews
Reviews published by the website 4:3.

ABC stock footage
ABC Library Sales. consists of two distinct business units that license and sell, both ABC owned and Represented content. The two units are Footage Audio Stills licensing and Programs for educational, organisational or personal use.
BBC Motion Gallery Video Collection
Comprehensive collection of distinctive, high quality motion imagery. Choose from over 125,000 license-ready, online clips hand-picked from BBC programming and rushes.
British Pathé Newsreels
Archive of 85,000 newsreels free to view online at the British Pathé website or on YouTube. Pathé News was a producer of newsreels and documentaries in the UK. Spanning 1896 to 1978, the video collection includes footage of major events around the globe, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science and culture. YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/britishpathe/
Film Australia Collection (FAC)
A selection of documentary titles and footage from the FAC spanning over 100 years of Australian government documentary film production. The National Film & Sound Archive (NFSA) manages the collection. NFSA's reference team operates a service for clients in the screen industry, educational and cultural institutions and corporations. Licence fees and service costs may apply.
Production Crate
Collections of VFX & Motion Graphics, SFX & Music, and Graphics & Textures. About half their content is available for free.

Envato
Over 9 million digital products created by a global community of designers,
developers, photographers, illustrators & producers.
Pond5
Stock footage, music and After Effects
Take Three - NFSA
The NFSA’s Take Three initiative offers Australian tertiary students and emerging Australian artists and filmmakers up to three minutes (180 seconds) of NFSA 100%-controlled footage and/or audio and up to ten stills with no licence fee.

Film Australia Footage and Stills Collection
The online collection represents a selection of documentary titles from the Film Australia Collection (FAC), spanning over a century of Australian government documentary film production. Licence / access fees may apply.
Pexels Videos
Pexels Videos offers completely free videos. All videos are licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license. This means you can edit or change the videos and use them free for personal and even for commercial projects. All without asking for permission or setting a link to the source. So that attribution is not required. With our swiftly growing database of videos, you are guaranteed to find the perfect footage for your website header, product promotion, or anything else. Every video we have available is free for any purpose - including commercial. This guarantees that you will be saving the hundreds of dollars better spent promoting your brand.

Film Victoria
Film Victoria is the State Government agency that provides strategic leadership and assistance to the film, television and digital media sectors of Victoria. They aim be a responsive advocate for the screen industry in Victoria through funding the production and development of screen content, industry placements, filming incentives, location assistance, industry events and other support.
Screen Australia
Screen Australia is the Federal Government's primary agency for supporting Australian screen production.
Screen NSW
Information on festivals, Australian film projects in all stages of production, plus funding and incentives for filming in NSW.
It is part of Create NSW which merged Arts NSW and Screen NSW in 2017.
Screen QLD (SQ)
Screen Queensland’s purpose is to grow the screen industry and promote the economic and cultural well-being of Queensland. SQ supports the screen industry’s contribution to the nation’s cultural landscape including its ability to showcase Queensland’s rich cultural diversity, facilitate cultural engagement, encourage tourism and reflect a national voice and identity on screen.
Screen Tasmania
Screen Tasmania is the Tasmanian Government body responsible for supporting and developing the state's film, television and multimedia industries by increasing the amount of independent screen production occurring in Tasmania. It aims to build the success of the screen sector in Tasmania by attracting high quality, high value productions to the state, developing talent and supporting projects.
ScreenWest
Screenwest is Western Australia's lead screen funding and development organisation, supporting film, television and digital production. They offer funding support for the development and production of Western Australian screen projects, festivals, tours and events. They also support the professional development of screen industry practitioners and production companies.
South Australian Film Corporation (SAFC)
SAFC is dedicated to the development and promotion of South Australia’s screen industries, delivering funding and support for over 40 years to a vibrant mix of South Australian productions.

Australian Academy of Cinema & Television Arts (AACTA)
The primary role of the AACTA is to recognise, encourage, promote and celebrate film and television excellence in Australia through the nation’s highest screen accolades, the AACTA Awards.
Membership provides the Australian public, screen practitioners and international audiences with a unique opportunity to connect with and show their support for the Australian screen industry.
Australian Centre for Moving Image (ACMI)
ACMI is Australia’s national museum of film, TV, video games, digital culture and art, located in in Federation Square, Melbourne. ACMI runs exhibitions & screenings, holds a large collection of multimedia, and hosts a co-working space (ACMI X) which is a creative hub for many moving image artists.
Australian Copyright Council
The Australian Copyright Council is an independent, non-profit organisation. They represent the peak bodies for professional artists and content creators working in Australia’s creative industries and Australia’s major copyright collecting societies.
Screen Producers Australia
Unites screen businesses and campaigns for a healthy commercial environment, supported by a representative council and a full-time secretariat. Aims to support the business interests of members, by creating commercial and networking opportunities, and supplying expertise.
Writing NSW
Writing NSW brings a community of aspirational, emerging and established writers together through the provision of a suite of writing programs and services that support, develop and promote a writing culture.
Copyright Agency
Not-for-profit organisation that provides simple licensing solutions to allow you to use copyright-protected words and images.
Media, Entertainment and Art Alliance (MEAA)
MEAA is the largest union and industry advocate for Australia’s creative professionals. Members include people working in TV, radio, theatre & film, entertainment venues, journalists, actors, dancers, sportspeople, cartoonists, photographers, orchestral & opera performers, public relations, advertising, book publishing and website production.
Australian Classification
The Australian Classification Board is a statutory body under the Department of Communications & the Arts which makes classification decisions for films, computer games and certain other publications.
Screenrights
Screenrights is a not-for-profit membership organisation that provides rights and royalty management services to the screen industry. They facilitate access to screen content through simple licensing for teachers, government administrators and home viewers with subscription TV.
Women in Film & Television in NSW (WIFT NSW)
Organisation which advocates for gender parity in the film industry through advocacy, education and support of female identifying screen industry practitioners. They run programs and events, coordinate protests, offer mentoring and more. As of 2018, part of WIFT Australia.
Sydney Film Festival: 1954 to now
An anthology publication of memories, multimedia and musings covering SFF's history and future. Part eBook, part commemorative catalogue, part journal, this living archive chronicles the SFF.

Television: Television

Television Websites