DATABASES
The AFTRS Library gives AFTRS staff and students free access to these research databases.
Databases hold a collection of information, either focused on one subject, or multidisciplinary. They should be used to find authoritative journal articles for your assignments. They can include:
Journals -- Research -- Literature reviews -- Newspapers -- Magazines -- Reports -- Newsletters
Sometimes they include books and book reviews, but if you want books specifically, use the library catalogue.
Some of the journals in this collection:
Some of the journals in this collection:
The Bloomsbury and Faber Screenplays and Criticism database brings together a wide range of content from Bloomsbury and Faber & Faber to support studies of the moving image.
It offers searchable access to screenplays presented in industry-standard studio format; introductory overview articles with expert analysis of selected themes; and critical and contextual books on cinema, including coverage of practical techniques for filmmaking and screenwriting.
Search here for these topics:
Search here for these topics:
If you are a member of a public library in your state you can access more databases provided by your State. Click through the alphabetic list of databases on offer.
If you are a member of a public library in your state you can access more databases provided by your State. Click through the alphabetic list of databases on offer.
Journal articles are shorter than books and written about very specific topics. A journal is a collection of articles (like a magazine) that is published regularly throughout the year.
Journals present the most recent research, and journal articles are generally written by experts in their field, and peer-reviewed.
Visit this page to learn more about Academic Sources and Peer-Review.