Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AFTRS Virtual Library

Articles

The AFTRS LIbrary, as well as public Libraries around Australia give access to millions of free journal articles.

Below are some links to the best place to discover articles for your assessment or just for pleasure.

Databases subscribed to by the AFTRS LIbrary

Databases at the New South Wales State Library

New South Wales State Library

The State Library of New South Wales is a large reference and research library open to the public.

It is the oldest library in Australia, being the first library established in New South Wales. 

Subject strengths include:

  • Australian history
  • Australian culture
  • Australian literature

The NSW State Library has a range of resources you can access both onsite and at home.

By becoming a member of the NSW State Library you are about to access all of their resource including a number of Databases. These resources and more can be found in the eResources section of the website, including:

  • Ebsco's Academic Search Complete
  • Ebsco's Art Index Retrospective
  • Ebsco's Business Source Complete
  • Jstor 
  • Proquest's Factiva

Click Here to get a FREE membership to the New South Wales State Library.

The New South Wales State Library also provides free lessons on research within the New South Wales State Library. These sessions usually run for approximately 60-90 minutes.

Databases at the National Library of Australia

National Library of Australia

The Library holds the largest collection in the world of material relating to Australia and the Australian people. 

It ranges from the earliest European works about the Great Southern Land to the most current publications. 

The collection includes all formats of material, from books and magazines to pictures, photographs, maps, sheet music, oral history recordings,    manuscript papers, ephemera and much much more!

Their FREE Library membership gives you access to a select range of e-resources, and if you are in Canberra, you can use items onsite in their reading rooms. There are also other freely accessible internet resources. Interesting eResources include:

  • Ebsco's Academic Search Complete
  • Jstor
  • Project Muse
  • Numerous Australian and international newspaper archives
  • Proquest's Factiva

Click here to become a member of the National Library of Australia.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

The results are either direct links or brief summaries of resource content.

One useful aspect is the “Cited by” link, which provides a listing of articles in which the original article was cited. This may lead you to discover other related resources.