It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Alphaville is a fully peer-reviewed online journal, edited and published by PhD and postdoctoral researchers in Film and Screen Media at University College Cork, Ireland. The open access journal is published twice a year, and stresses a rigorous and scholarly approach to film criticism. They publish papers, book reviews and film festival reports.
American print and digital magazine covering the technology, business and art of animation and VFX, whether that be in film, television or video games. Editorial content covers all forms of animation: 2D and cartoons, 3D animation and visual effects, and stop-motion. Check out their website for daily news, entertaining features, an online animated film festival, contests, sneak-previews and more.
The AFTRS Library holds print issues from 1999, and has digital access from 1994.
This double-blind, peer-reviewed journal presents and analyses how animation is created and shown. From Pixar to Parn, Aardman to X-Men, motion capture to mobile phone, GUI to gallery, all forms of animation are revealed and assessed. Illustrated contributions are invited from practitioners and scholars of animation. Innovative models of critical presentation and analysis are especially encouraged.
The AFTRS Library has full text digital access from the first issue in 2011.
Insightful and entertaining coverage of the international professional animation community, from the big players to small independents. Animation World Magazine includes news, reviews, blogs, forums, events, job listings and videos of the latest animated works. It also reviews the latest software and tools. Recent articles are available electronically from the Animation World Network website.
The AFTRS Library has archival access to issues dating back to 1996.
Published by the guild American Cinema Editors, CE Magazine is the go-to industry magazine for film and television editors, assistants and post-production professionals. Features reviews, commentary, first looks, technical rundowns of how films were shot and edited and Eddie Award reporting.
Contact the AFTRS Library to enquire about print or digital access.
Features detailed interviews with international, Hollywood and independent film and television editors on topics like restoration, editing for different genres, workflow, sound mixing and much more. CineMontage also reports on news, union developments and post-production software, plus publishes retrospectives and articles on editing history.
Contact the AFTRS Library for information about print holdings and digital access.
Film Quarterly is devoted to the study of film, television, and visual media. It publishes scholarly analyses of international, Hollywood and independent films, including documentary and animation. The journal also revisits classic cinema, examines digital media, reports from film festivals, reviews recent academic publications, and sometimes explores video games and emergent technologies.
AFTRS Library holds print copies from 1951 to present.
Filmmaker is a quarterly publication magazine covering issues relating to independent film, currently published by the Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP). Each year Filmmaker publishes its '25 New Faces of Independent Film' list, showcasing independent film's emerging talent. The list typically contains directors, producers, actors and animators.
AFTRS Library holds print copies from 1994 to present, and digital access from 2007-2010.
Film and television industry news for Australian content creators, with articles and updates on project funding; films and TV shows in production; distribution; film festivals; screen companies; and technological developments.
Published by Australian Teachers of Media (ATOM), Metro is an international film and screen culture journal which specialises in Australasian & Pacific film. It also covers television, video, multimedia, the internet & radio. Metro publishes well-informed, analytical and thought-provoking discussion and essays.
The AFTRS Library has full text digital access from 1975, and print copies from 1974.
MovieMaker’s content is directed at independent cinema's audiences and artists. It features a mix of interviews, criticism, DIY techniques, festival coverage, distribution and financing tips, behind-the-scenes indie “war stories” and reviews of classic Hollywood actors, directors, cinematographers, producers, screenwriters and editors.
AFTRS Library has full text online access from 2013 to present, and holds print copies from prior iterations from the 1970s.
Available in its entirety online, RealTime magazine is Australia’s critical guide to national and international contemporary arts. Its scope covers experimentation in performance (e.g. live art, theatre, dance, music and sound) and photomedia (e.g. film, video, interactive media and hybrid arts). Find weekly-updated reviews, previews, interviews, opinion pieces, festival reports and multimedia content.
Senses of Cinema is an digital journal devoted to in-depth analysis and eclectic discussion of cinema. Content includes festival reports, spotlights on significant directors, book reviews and more. As an Australian-based journal, they have a commitment to regular, wide-ranging analysis and critique of Australian cinema, past and present.
Published monthly by the British Film Institute (BFI), Sight & Sound has been reporting on the best in cinema since 1932. Features interviews with acclaimed directors, film reviews, first looks, retrospectives and more. Every decade, Sight & Sound asks an international group of critics and directors to vote for their ten greatest films of all time.
AFTRS Library has complete online full text access from the first issue in 1932.
Stash showcases exceptional motion design, visual effects and animation projects. Exclusively available online, each issue includes music videos; game trailers and cinematics; short films; behind-the-scenes features; and exclusive interviews.
The AFTRS Library has a subscription to the Stash Permanent Collection, the world’s largest online video library of exceptional animation, VFX and motion design.
Online publication dedicated to the diverse fields of visual effects, 3D animation and computer graphics. VFXWorld provides in-depth perspectives and insight into these dynamic industries through an entertaining and informative assembly of editorials, tutorials, and imagery. Published by the Animation World Network website.
Popular magazine focusing on the technical side of production and post-production, including video editing and audio production, for novice and expert videographers. Surveys and reviews new technology and equipment, teaches production techniques, and shows how to get the most out of your equipment. The Videomaker website also contains a wealth of information on editing techniques and video tools.