It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Established in 1967, Cineaste is a quarterly magazine which offers a social, political and aesthetic perspective on cinema. Their feature articles provide in-depth analysis of trends, genres and productions, with a stylistic emphasis on readability. Contributors are asked to consider sociopolitical context, artistic aspects of the topic and filmmaker intent. Cineaste publishes interviews with directors, performers, writers, composers, producers, distributors, technicians, or anyone else involved in the creative or business side of filmmaking.
AFTRS Library has a subscription to the print edition, and access to an online version through FIAF.
Filmmaker is a quarterly publication magazine covering issues relating to independent film, currently published by the Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP). Each year Filmmaker publishes its '25 New Faces of Independent Film' list, showcasing independent film's emerging talent. The list typically contains directors, producers, actors and animators.
AFTRS Library holds print copies from 1994 to present, and digital access from 2007-2010.
Film Quarterly is devoted to the study of film, television, and visual media. It publishes scholarly analyses of international, Hollywood and independent films, including documentary and animation. The journal also revisits classic cinema, examines digital media, reports from film festivals, reviews recent academic publications, and sometimes explores video games and emergent technologies.
AFTRS Library holds print copies from 1951 to present.
The International Cinematographers Guild represents the most talented camera professionals in the world. The technicians and artisans in our union are the creators of the visual images on the big screen, the television screen and our computer screen.
Features detailed interviews with international, Hollywood and independent film and television editors on topics like restoration, editing for different genres, workflow, sound mixing and much more. CineMontage also reports on news, union developments and post-production software, plus publishes retrospectives and articles on editing history.
Contact the AFTRS Library for information about print holdings and digital access.
Quarterly journal of the Australian Cinematographers Society. Features technology reviews; editorials; and detailed interviews with cinematographers and other camera operators about particular projects.
Issues dating back to 1982 available to study in the AFTRS library upon request.
The Journal of Film + Video is published by the University Film & Video Association and focuses on scholarship in the fields of film and video production, history, theory, criticism, and aesthetics. Article features include film and related media, problems of education in these fields, and the function of film and video in society.
AFTRS Library has full text online access available from 1983 to present, and print copies from 1984 to present. Contact the library if you are having trouble accessing this journal.
MovieMaker’s content is directed at independent cinema's audiences and artists. It features a mix of interviews, criticism, DIY techniques, festival coverage, distribution and financing tips, behind-the-scenes indie “war stories” and reviews of classic Hollywood actors, directors, cinematographers, producers, screenwriters and editors.
AFTRS Library has full text online access from 2013 to present, and holds print copies from prior iterations from the 1970s.
Available in its entirety online, RealTime magazine is Australia’s critical guide to national and international contemporary arts. Its scope covers experimentation in performance (e.g. live art, theatre, dance, music and sound) and photomedia (e.g. film, video, interactive media and hybrid arts). Find weekly-updated reviews, previews, interviews, opinion pieces, festival reports and multimedia content.
The newsletter of the Australian Director's Guild includes detailed interviews and masterclasses with Australian and international filmmakers. Past articles have covered topics including restoration, VR storytelling, stunt work and the ADG awards. Check out their podcast as well.
AFTRS Library holds print copies of the newsletter from 1997 to present.
Published monthly by the British Film Institute (BFI), Sight & Sound has been reporting on the best in cinema since 1932. Features interviews with acclaimed directors, film reviews, first looks, retrospectives and more. Every decade, Sight & Sound asks an international group of critics and directors to vote for their ten greatest films of all time.
AFTRS Library has complete online full text access from the first issue in 1932.
Popular magazine focusing on the technical side of production and post-production, including video editing and audio production, for novice and expert videographers. Surveys and reviews new technology and equipment, teaches production techniques, and shows how to get the most out of your equipment. The Videomaker website also contains a wealth of information on editing techniques and video tools.