The most frequently-used databases
Why search here? The International Index to Film Periodicals offers in-depth coverage of the world’s foremost academic and popular film journals
Content type: It offers full-text and bibliographic coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. It is the only database offering subject indexing of film periodicals from a controlled thesaurus. Some example publications include American Cinematographer, Cineaste, Film International, Journal of Popular Film & Television, Sight & Sound and Variety.
Coverage: It includes film literature from more than 300 periodicals since 1972 and television literature from 1979. Each entry consists of a full bibliographic description, an abstract and comprehensive headings (biographical names, film titles and general subjects).
Journal of Film Preservation
Bref
Black Camera
Canadian Journal of Film Studies
Cinémas
Cineforum
Film, Fashion & Consumption
Historical Journal of Film, Radio, and Television
Cinema (Germany)
Cinema (Oslo)
1895
El Amante Cine
Film - Dienst
The Routledge Companion to Film History
The Oxford History of World Cinema
Screen International; London
OnFilm; Auckland
Film Analysis : A Norton Reader
Critical Ideas in Television Studies
Encyclopedia of Early Cinema
Jeune Cinéma; Montreuil
Nosferatu
Monthly Film Bulletin
Metro : Media & Education Magazine
Lähikuva
Studies in Arts and Humanities Journal
Filmmagie
Journal of Cinema and Media Studies
Hitchcock Annual
Griffithiana
Framework; Detroit
Framework; Coventry, Eng.
Film Studies
Film Quarterly
Film Ireland
Film International
Animation Journal
Film History; New York
Cineaste
Film Criticism
Film Comment
Film & History
Cinema Journal
Cineaction (ARCHIVE)
Archivos de la Filmoteca
Film History; Sydney
American Cinematographer
Academia Revista del Cine Español
Broadcast; London
Wuxia
Velvet Light Trap
Journal of Film and Video
Skrien
Screen Bodies
Projections
Post Script
Millennium Film Journal
Literature/Film Quarterly
L'Art du Cinema
Kwartalnik Filmowy
Kino
Journal of Popular Film and Television
Variety
The Spectator
Take 1
Sight & Sound (ARCHIVE)
Sight & Sound
Positif
Why search here? Intellect Discover is a fiercely independent academic publisher for scholars and practitioners teaching and researching in the arts, media and creative industries.
Best known for their work in the visual and performing arts, they provide publishing services in many subject areas, backed by over 40 years of steady growth, and a reputation for excellence in design and production.
Their Film & Media Collection contains the following titles, all available free to AFTRS Staff and Students as part of a paid subscription by the AFTRS Library.
Journal of Arab & Muslim Media Research
Journal of Digital Media & Policy
Journal of Environmental Media
Journal of Fandom Studies
Journal of Gaming & Virtual Worlds
Journal of Global Diaspora & Media
Journal of Italian Cinema & Media Studies
Journal of Popular Television
Journal of Applied Journalism & Media Studies
Journal of Screenwriting
Journal of Visual Political Communication
MIRAJ: The Moving Image Review & Art Journal
New Cinemas
Northern Lights
Queer Studies in Media & Popular Culture
Radio Journal, The
Film Matters
Asian Cinema
Australian Journalism Review
Catalan Journal of Communication & Cultural Studies
Empedocles: European Journal for the Philosophy of Communication
Film, Fashion & Consumption
Film International
Animation Practice, Process & Production
Horror Studies
Interactions: Studies in Communication & Culture
International Journal of Media & Cultural Politics
Journal of Adaptation in Film & Performance
Journal of African Cinemas
Journal of African Media Studies
Journal of Alternative & Community Media
Journal of Scandinavian Cinema
Soundtrack, The
Studies in South Asian Film & Media
Studies in Spanish & Latin American Cinemas
Short Film Studies
Explorations in Media Ecology
Artifact: Journal of Design Practice
Why search here? Search and explore the millions of quality, peer-reviewed journal articles published under the Taylor & Francis and Routledge imprints.
Their Media, Cultural & Communications Studies Database contains the following titles, all available free to AFTRS Staff and Students as part of a paid subscription by the AFTRS Library.
African Journalism Studies
American Journalism
Annals of the International Communication Association
Capitalism Nature Socialism
Media Practice and Education
Media History
Mass Communication and Society
Journalism Studies
Journalism Practice
Journal of Latin American Cultural Studies
Journal of Visual Literacy
Journal of Spanish Cultural Studies
Journal of Radio & Audio Media
Journal of Public Relations Research
Journal of Health Communication
Journal of Family Communication
Journal of Children and Media
Journal of Applied Communication Research
Javnost - The Public
Interventions: International Journal of Postcolonial Studies
International Journal of Strategic Communication
Information, Communication and Society
Health Communication
Feminist Media Studies
de arte
Cultural Trends
Culture, Theory and Critique
Digital Journalism
French Screen Studies
Howard Journal of Communication
Inter-Asia Cultural Studies
International Journal of Cultural Policy
International Journal of Listening
International Journal on Media Management
Journal of Intercultural Communication Research
Journal for Cultural Research
Journal of Australian Studies
Journal of Broadcasting & Electronic Media
Journal of Cultural Economy
Journal of International and Intercultural Communication
Journal of Popular Film and Television
Journal of Media Ethics
Journal of Media Economics
Journal of Media and Religion
Journalism History
Studies in Australasian Cinema
Southern Communication Journal
South Asian Popular Culture
Souls: A Critical Journal of Black Politics, Culture, and Society
Social Semiotics
Rhetoric Society Quarterly
Rhetoric Review
Parallax
Rethinking Marxism
Research on Language & Social Interaction
Quarterly Review of Film & Video
Quarterly Journal of Speech
Qualitative Research Reports in Communication
Postcolonial Studies
Porn Studies
Popular Communication
Critical Discourse Studies
Critical Studies in Media Communication
Communication Research Reports
Communication Monographs
Communication Law and Policy
Communication and Democracy
Chinese Journal of Communication
Celebrity Studies
Communicatio: South African Journal for Communication Theory and Research
Communication & Critical/Cultural Studies
Communication Booknotes Quarterly
Communication Education
Communication Methods and Measures
Communication Quarterly
Communication Reports
Communication Research and Practice
Cultural Studies
Atlantic Journal of Communication
Argumentation and Advocacy
Asian Journal of Communication
Critical Arts
Communication Studies
Communication Teacher
Continuum: Journal of Media & Cultural Studies
Media Psychology
New Review of Film & Television Studies
Review of Communication
Technical Communication Quarterly
Text and Performance Quarterly
The Communication Review
The Journal of International Communication
Visual Communication Quarterly
Western Journal of Communication
Women's Studies in Communication
Studies in European Cinema
