Find the best library databases for your research.
Loading...
Featured Databases
Loading...
The most frequently-used databases
A READ ME - How to Use This List
Featured
This A-Z List collects more than just databases - find great resources all in one place.
You can filter by Subject to find resources relevant to your study area (e.g. Screenwriting or Radio).
Filter by Type to find the kind of resource you need (e.g. video streaming services or writing guides).
TYPE
DESCRIPTION
Analysis
Expert critique, analysis, journal articles and essays which break down a filmmaker's work(s).
Bibliographic Information
Publication information for films, shows and home releases, including broadcast dates, distribution companies, credits for cast & crew, etc.
Box Office
Box office statistics (historical and current) for various countries.
Channels & Stations
TV channels, radio stations.
Databases & Archives
Searchable databases of scripts, journal articles, multimedia, abstracts, artefact collections, photo archives and more.
Directories
Online address books. Find contact details for filmmakers, broadcast professionals and companies.
Festivals & Awards
Organisations and submissions pages for film festivals and broadcast industry awards.
Entertainment Magazines & News
Online film magazines including trailers, entertainment news, film festival updates, interviews with industry practitioners and behind-the-scenes looks.
Footage & Stock Images
Footage, stills, stock photos, sound recordings and VFX effects available for purchase and/or download.
Funding Assistance
Funding assistance for various stages of film production plus general entrepreneurial and marketing support.
Government - Screen
Australian government bodies and initiatives which support the screen and broadcast arts.
Guilds - AU
Australian guilds, societies and industry memberships. These are often great places to undertake training and development, take masterclasses, engage in networking and assist with promotion of your work.
Guilds - World
International guilds, societies and industry memberships.
History
Historical summaries, timelines and biographies.
How-to & Help
Instructions, online training, how-to videos and technical support forums for cameras, VFX programs, editing suites and more.
Indigenous Australia
Resources about Australia's First Nations; Indigenous-led organisations and programs.
Libraries
Websites and catalogues for various Australian libraries.
Licensing & Copyright
Copyright, licensing of music or footage and patents.
Reviews
Film, television and book reviews.
Unions
Labour unions which promote fair wages for work and the economic welfare of their members.
Video Streaming
Podcasts, video streaming services for TV & film, and other broadcasts.
Writing Guides
Academic writing assistance, APA referencing help and style guides.
Produced in collaboration with the American Film Institute, the American Film Institute Catalog is the premier resource for studying American motion pictures. It is the most comprehensive and detailed national filmography in the world. The Catalog includes the entire print version, which currently comprises five volumes documenting all films produced in the United Statesfrom 1892 to 1973, as well as new content and important updates for all previous records. Also included are records for the Institute’s Top Ten Films for the years 2000 to 2007. The Catalog offers authoritative plot summaries and insider production notes, as well as subject and song indexing for each film record.
The Australian Audio Guide is a collaboration between the Wheeler Centre and Audiocraft, a place to discover quality podcasts and radio programs that speak to a variety of tastes. It explores Australian audio culture with regular interviews, features and listening suggestions.
CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) providing full-text and abstracted articles in the communication and mass media fields.
Exile Shorts provides short films from the top universities around Australia and the world including AFTRS, the American Film Institute Conservatorium, the British Film Institute and many others.
FIAF Index to Film Periodicals Plus offers full-text and bibliographic coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. It is the only database offering subject indexing of film periodicals from a controlled thesaurus. It includes film literature from more than 300 periodicals since 1972 and television literature from 1979. Each entry consists of a full bibliographic description, an abstract and comprehensive headings (biographical names, film titles and general subjects).
Film & Television Literature Index (FTLI) is an international index to film and television literature, providing full indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more.
Film Index International is a database with information on feature films, shorts, documentaries, TV movies, awards, production companies, credits, plot synopses, actors and more. It provides information on 90,000 films or shows since 1895. It contains citations of reviews and journal articles, as well as cast and crew credits. The FII is included in the ProQuest Screen Studies Collection, along with the AFI catalogue and FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database.
This database includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles and book reviews pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Search the world's largest database of film and television titles, actors, directors, producers and other crew members. View:
- Contact details for thousands of film industry workers
- Casting notices
- Movie trailers
- Critic reviews
- Quotes, trivia and goofs about movies and celebrities
Alternate Name(s)
Australian Public Affairs Full Text
Informit APAFT (formerly known as Australian Public Affairs Full Text) brings together over 550 journals covering Australia's political, economic and social affairs. Developed in partnership with the Australian Public Affairs Information Service produced by the National Library of Australia, the collection holds scanned images and articles on topics such as current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
The Informit Indigenous Collection gives access to emergent and ground breaking research within the global community offering scope for critical international engagement and debate. With material from Australia, Canada, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, North America and The Pacific which normally is not easily located in standard recourses, IIC is a platform for Indigenous worldviews.
Created in partnership with the Australia Council for the Arts, the Informit Literature & Culture Collection is an essential reference database for academic, school and public libraries and for teachers and students of literary studies, cultural studies and creative writing courses. Researchers and students of Australian literature, history and society will find this Collection a rich source of fiction, poetry, cultural politics and the ideas that have helped define the unique Australian identity.
Under the Screenrights licence, staff of educational institutions are permitted to copy from TV and radio and then use the copied material for the educational purposes of the institution.
The Library has a collection of off-air recordings that can be viewed at AFTRS as well as remotely using AFTRS login credentials. Off-air Recordings can also be clipped and used in assignments.
To request an offair recording, please send an email to offair@aftrs.edu.au
Online directory for the Australian film, television, advertising and multimedia industries. Includes cast, crew, suppliers and production information.
Art Full Text is a foundational art research database providing full-text art journals and books. It covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film, and architecture.
Designed for libraries in Australia and New Zealand, this database provides a thriving collection of leading regional and international periodicals, full-text reference books, full-text biographies and a collection of images containing photos, maps, and flags.
Exile Shorts provides short films from the top universities around Australia and the world including AFTRS, the American Film Institute Conservatorium, the British Film Institute and many others.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text is the definitive research database for theatre and dance studies, it also contains full text for top performing arts journals and books.
From ABC-CLIO, Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas is an irresistible yet authoritative online resource that covers popular culture in America, both past and present—in a package as dynamic as the topic it covers.
This link opens in a new window
)
